1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General firmware package update?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mikeca, Feb 3, 2013.

  1. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #250
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    The only error I have is 3g not connecting after the update, but that could very well be one of the issues I'm having with my account at the moment.

    The update is pretty stable. I might have 3g issues, but can't tell because I don't have the money to restart my plan which ended yesterday -_-
    I don't see many changes. So far the only noticeable change is that Google Magazines is now installed.

    So far, no consensus. If you can get the update to work after you root, the root does stay.

    Power off the phone, then hold Vol-Up(Vol-Down?) + Power button.
     

    Advertisement

    jae_63 likes this.
  2. SuppliedRelic

    SuppliedRelic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012

    Feb 26, 2012
    76
    6
    16
    Male
    United States
    Is it safe to apply the update via recovery with a rooted phone?
     
  3. db2

    db2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012

    That's not how it works, stock recovery is useless for anything but wiping data.
     
  4. SuppliedRelic

    SuppliedRelic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012

    Feb 26, 2012
    76
    6
    16
    Male
    United States
    That sucks
     
  5. lostinmemory

    lostinmemory Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013

    Feb 9, 2013
    1
    1
    6
    I was rooted before the update and I'm still rooted after. I haven't had any problems with the phone or the update. All of my system apps are still on the phone (Activate, Live, etc.) I only rooted so I could use adaway. I can also confirm that this fixes the USSD vulnerability. Overall, the phone feels a little snappier and more stable. This gives me hope for an eventual Jelly Bean update.
     
    SuppliedRelic likes this.
  6. sethseth

    sethseth Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 27, 2012

    May 27, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    HEY GUISE. I am new here. I updated my Rise today with that firmware update (I'm rooted) I have several rooted apps and I don't believe I've uninstalled any stock apps. It updated just fine. No problems except I get duplicate text messages now, which I posted a new thread for. So if you have any advice on that please answer or if you're having the problem.
     
  7. dibblebill

    dibblebill Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,105
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    2,105
    360
    183
    Male
    Educator
    Raleigh, NC
    Mine still won't update... Maybe on my next rise (I have two)
     
  8. daffyducknj

    daffyducknj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #179
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    694
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    694
    204
    133
    Male
    odd jobs atm
    NJ, USA
    Mine's updated, but I can't root it... ARRR!!!! :mad: I tried Bin4ry's method... am contemplating doing a factory reset, but then I found the no PC method around here. Might try that later.
     
  9. LightyKD

    LightyKD Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    72
    9
    16

    Really? I was rooted but then the phone restarted and forced the update on me and now I dont have root access (even thou I can still navigate the root via my file browser) :(
     
  10. db2

    db2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012

    root as in / and root as in su are not the same thing.
     
  11. LightyKD

    LightyKD Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    72
    9
    16

    root as in su because both superuser and root checker are saying that I don't have proper root. Has anyone tried to root their device after the update?
     
  12. db2

    db2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012

    If you open Terminal Emulator and type 'su' does it work?
     
  13. sethseth

    sethseth Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 27, 2012

    May 27, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    I just unrooted my phone and restored because I was fricking sick of getting double messages and no one could help me. It fixed the problem and I lost all my precios texts from friends. Now I can verify it will not root correctly with root with restore bin4ry or whatever it is. Root browser works, nothing else does that is a root app.
     
  14. Trevon360

    Trevon360 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012

    Dec 28, 2012
    62
    3
    16
  15. daffyducknj

    daffyducknj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #179
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    694
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    694
    204
    133
    Male
    odd jobs atm
    NJ, USA
    http://androidforums.com/rise-all-things-root/686996-new-root-method-no-pc.html

    Try this! Seriously, it does work. Guess maybe I should post some screen shots later, but in any case it works for me. Sorry to see that you lost your texts. That's never good. :( I tried Bin4ry's method first as well, until I stumbled across this new method. I was contemplating rooting the phone manually. For me, this has worked out really well.

    I've applied the egl tweak, and have overclocked the CPU to 1024 GHz using No Frills CPU CLASSIC. It's not possible to go any higher at the moment, as the kernels that the Rise uses don't support higher speeds. I don't really care at the moment, as the phone is so much more enjoyable and responsive to use after a few tweaks.

    :five:
     
  16. db2

    db2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012

    1.024 is stock speed, the biggest advantage of being able to control it is to set it to use the Conservative governor which should improve battery life.
     
  17. SuppliedRelic

    SuppliedRelic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012

    Feb 26, 2012
    76
    6
    16
    Male
    United States
    So you can confirm this root method works after updating?
     
  18. LightyKD

    LightyKD Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    72
    9
    16
    I can confirm that Superuser will say that you have Root access while your root checker will say that you do not have root... so yeah... im just as confused as anyone else because Poot gives me a daemon error.
     
  19. daffyducknj

    daffyducknj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #179
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    694
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    694
    204
    133
    Male
    odd jobs atm
    NJ, USA
    IMG_1044 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

    Just shot this a few minutes ago. This app won't run without superuser privileges.
     
  20. db2

    db2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012

    If su is in system/bin you may have to symlink it to /system/xbin too. Or the other way around. I had to do that on my TF101 to make sure all the root-capable apps could find su.
     
  21. LightyKD

    LightyKD Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    72
    9
    16
    do you think you could type down a quick tutorial. that would be super helpful!
     
  22. Trevon360

    Trevon360 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012

    Dec 28, 2012
    62
    3
    16
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0HUt5inuVtc&feature=youtube_gdata_player
     
  23. db2

    db2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012

    You'll need to install Terminal Emulator from the Play Store.

    Open Terminal Emulator and type:
    su

    Superuser should ask for permission for it. If it doesn't come back and say so right off.

    Then type:
    ln -s /system/bin/su /system/xbin/su

    If that gives you an error about the target existing then do this one:
    ln -s /system/xbin/su /system/bin/su

    Then type exit twice to get out of Terminal Emulator.

    After that try to use a root app that failed before. It should work now.
     
    radford and sneaky_1 like this.
  24. SuppliedRelic

    SuppliedRelic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012

    Feb 26, 2012
    76
    6
    16
    Male
    United States
    I have successfully updated to the latest firmware and still have root access.
     
  25. Raymond_w3

    Raymond_w3 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013

    Feb 17, 2013
    1
    1
    6
    Okay, so I've never tried a root or anything but today when I restarted my phone it forced the update. Like sethseth mentioned I am getting duplicate text messages also. Anybody got a fix for this? It's pretty damn annoying
     
    Princess2313 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...