1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Galaxy S3 predictive text

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Manglier, Jun 1, 2012.

  1. Manglier

    Manglier Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012

    Jun 1, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Hi,
    Can someone please tell me how to turn off predictive text on a Galaxy S3, running ICS?
    Thanx in advance,
    Manglier.
     

    Advertisement

  2. davoid

    davoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,801
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011

    Aug 3, 2011
    1,801
    710
    223
    London
    Click on the cog symbol to the left of the space bar.

    Third option down 'Predictive text' - slide the toggle over from 1 to 0.

    :)
     
  3. Sharbeahr

    Sharbeahr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012

    Jul 16, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Two things...what is a cog symbol? And please tell me how to get rid of this idiotic predictable text..I don't mind auto correct but the predictable text on the Galaxy S3 is just plain annoying to me..thank you so much
     
  4. treb1797

    treb1797 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #43
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    7,985
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    7,985
    2,899
    623
    Tennessee
    Settings > Language and input > Keyboards and input methods, click on the circle shaped looking thingy to the right of whatever keyboard you have selected & there you will find what your looking for. :pcguru:
     
    jtspell, pokerfish and abridges01 like this.
  5. treb1797

    treb1797 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #43
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    7,985
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    7,985
    2,899
    623
    Tennessee
    Welcome to the forums Sharbeahr & Manglier !!!!
     
  6. Sharbeahr

    Sharbeahr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012

    Jul 16, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Thank you so much..i uave alwqys been a motorola person and just git the S3...the predictive text drove me nuts....jow anithr question....does this phone have auto correct?? Obviously i need that...lol...and if it does how do i get it???
     
  7. rsarno

    rsarno Thank Me, Im Irish!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,675
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    1,675
    206
    143
    Westchester, NY
    I dont have the phone, sorry i cant help ...

    but this post made me LOL
     
    Sharbeahr likes this.
  8. SOCOM-HERO

    SOCOM-HERO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    128
    12
    58
    This phone has perhaps the WORST prediction and correction functionality I have ever seen. I immediately disabled it.
     
    RoarOfZonda and Sharbeahr like this.
  9. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky

    Hey, keep that binary stuff to yourself :)
     
  10. trunkmonkey

    trunkmonkey Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012

    Jul 11, 2012
    42
    4
    16
    I hate the way it changes what ur typing so it's easy to lose track of where you are in a word.I noticed predictive text is more useful in landscape as you can better find target word.
     
  11. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    I installed the lates Swype beta. No comparison. Samsung KB = bad.
     
  12. buur

    buur Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    22
    2
    16
    Samsung keyboard is awful. I am using it temporarily because I took the phone back to stock to get ready for an exchange (usb port is bad). I am with rushmore, just install Swype beta.
     
  13. shae3

    shae3 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012

    Jul 24, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    OMG... THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!!!! I was about to throw this phone across the room!!!
     
  14. Hogan773

    Hogan773 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    349
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012

    Jul 13, 2012
    349
    37
    43
    I am using the free trial of SwiftKey 3. Awesome! The Samsung predictive was laughable....I don't think it EVER got ANYTHING even close to right....
     
  15. rap31264

    rap31264 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012

    Mar 26, 2012
    14
    0
    15
    My droid X predictive text worked awesome...this is totally horrendous...I miss the predictive text...I hope the next update fixes it..
     
  16. rap31264

    rap31264 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012

    Mar 26, 2012
    14
    0
    15
    I just downloaded SwiftKey 3 trial and SO MUCH BETTER!!! If it's remains stable..I'll definitely purchase it...now why couldn't Samsung's stock keyboard be that way???
     
  17. leslielinson

    leslielinson Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012

    Jul 28, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I wish I could find a cog anywhere near my space bar - I absolutely am not
    finding a "settings" category that relates to language or predictive text. Aaugh
     
  18. question729

    question729 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #599
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    339
    25
    43
    What carrier phone do you have? It's strange how some settings are missing or relocated.

    I installed Swiftkey 3. Thankfully I snagged it when it was Amazon Free App of the Day last year but never needed it on my Incredible. The thing that still bugs me is that Swifkey changes a word to something totally different but when you backspace it doesn't change it back to what you were typing. I miss that from the HTC keyboard.
     
  19. RoarOfZonda

    RoarOfZonda Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    53
    3
    16
    Amen, thank god for SwiftKeys
     
  20. RoarOfZonda

    RoarOfZonda Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    53
    3
    16
    I just wish it had swype!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  21. cmybliss

    cmybliss Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    408
    73
    73
    The Abarat
    This.
     
  22. ericpanda999

    ericpanda999 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012

    Feb 1, 2012
    43
    4
    16
    So after reading this thread and seeing just how much veneration /praise SwiftKey has with its users I decided to try it out and have to say that I am no less that completely impressed! I love the fair bit of customization you can do on it and the auto correct is grossly accurate.
     
  23. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,460
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,460
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC
    I have Perfect keyboard...the paid app. Its lite years better then the stock keyboard.
     
  24. NativeTxn

    NativeTxn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011

    Feb 8, 2011
    126
    9
    36
    This also bugs me to no end. I also don't like how a lot of times I'll be typing a word and it wants to correct it to a longer word - it just assumes that I want the longer word, even though if I did, I would just type the longer word.

    Other than that, I really like SwiftKey 3, and I got mine on a free/discount day as well.
     
  25. trunkmonkey

    trunkmonkey Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012

    Jul 11, 2012
    42
    4
    16
    Big improvements in the keyboard. Predictive word list is finally in a logical order.

    But has anyone had issues with inserting into existing text? When I do that the predictive menu never appears and all of my letter 'i's are uppercase 'I'. Only happens with predictive text on. The work around for me has been to pad spaces before and after the insert position.

    I have yet to hear from anyone else to confirm there's a bug. Anyone?

    Update LG8
    :thinking:
     

Share This Page

Loading...