• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Reviews Goodbye LG V40

markdoc

Android Expert
Jun 28, 2011
Suburb of New York City, NY, USA
I have finally put my LG V40 out to pasture. I was planning on using it for a lot longer but it couldn't handle the load I placed on it. Also, for some unknown reason, the LG phone handle low memory situations unlike most phones. My most important app, my calendar, kept missing alarms. As a beta tester for this app, I was constantly working with the programmer to fix the issue. We finally quit. My new phone is the Google Pixel 6 Pro with Android 12. Using most of the same apps, I haven't missed an alarm.
FYI: I like the new phone and the combination of the new company and Android 12 is pretty good. It does take a while to get used to and I'm still learning how to use all the new ways of doing things. There are a few things that I miss;
1. No earphone jack
2. Adjusting the earphone sound
3. Manipulating screenshots
4. And a few more minor things

My new phone has a few things that the LG phone didn't. I don't know if it's the different manufacturer or Android 12 that's responsible. Two are phone calls & spell correcting. My knew phone handles being put on hold for me. It senses a computer on the other end and mutes the sound. When someone on the other end finally answers the call, my phone rings me to let me know. It also spell checks much better and points out errors in grammar. The phone is definitely worth looking into. Also, for the first time ever, I get updates quickly. In the month I've had it, it has received 2 updates.
One last drawback. You have to buy new chargers for a Google phone. All the phones prior to my Google used Qualcomm's Quick Charge system. The Google phone using the PD, power delivery system, and is not compatible with the Qualcomm system.
Good luck to you all!

Last edited:
Reactions: evagranch
Still using mine, Mark.