1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Google Buzz on the Hero???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chaos67731, Feb 9, 2010.

  1. chaos67731

    chaos67731 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    105
    1
    36
    Tech
    Las Vegas
    I have a coworker with an Iphone and one with a Droid and both can go to buzz.google.com but I cant on the Hero? I am thinking it has something to do with HTC web browser but not sure?

    Is there a way I can get the default browser on the Hero?
    Or just go to buzz.google.com??
     

    Advertisement

  2. mattcoz

    mattcoz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    60
    2
    16
    Chicago
    I'm having the same problem, won't work in either the HTC browser or Dolphin.
     
  3. mysticmead

    mysticmead Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    1,348
    175
    143
    Kingston, GA
    they haven't rolled buzz out to all google accounts yet..
     
  4. 702DROID

    702DROID Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    582
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    582
    22
    63
    NEVADA
    from the looks of it looks like its another one of those 2.0 android things we cant get yet
     
  5. shep913

    shep913 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Mobile/Web software QA
    Overland Park, KS
    I was able to go to that site earlier...weird.
     
  6. chaos67731

    chaos67731 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    105
    1
    36
    Tech
    Las Vegas
    @shep913 Did you just type in buzz.google.com ?
     
  7. RocknRolla

    RocknRolla Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    its another 2.0+ feature, as always we will have to wait for 2.1 until we get to play with these new apps.
     
  8. mattcoz

    mattcoz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    60
    2
    16
    Chicago
    The maps layer is, because it's part of Maps 4.0 which is only available to 1.6+. We're just talking about the web app though, which should have nothing to do with the version of Android.
     
  9. shep913

    shep913 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Mobile/Web software QA
    Overland Park, KS
    Yeah Chaos, just typed buzz.google.com into the standard browser. It brings up a supported devices information page. Says you need Maps 4.0+, and Android 2.0+. I'm running MoDaCo ROM, maybe that's why it let me get to the page?
     
  10. rlundeen

    rlundeen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Yup. Buzz is only available on Android if you have the Mapps app version 4.0 and 2.0 of Android. Can not even get the standard maps.google.com to show the buzz layer. and buzz.google.com just shows supported deivces. Very "creepy" of Google to do that.

    Why isn't' maps 4 available for 1.5?
     
  11. Alcaron

    Alcaron Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009

    Oct 23, 2009
    38
    0
    15
    God dammit...
     
  12. flammenwurfer

    flammenwurfer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    172
    4
    36
    Because supposedly soon there won't be any devices running 1.5 anymore so it would be a waste of time to release it for 1.5.

    The better question is why don't we have 2.1 on the Hero yet? I just wish they'd give us a month instead of 1st half of 2010.
     
  13. chaos67731

    chaos67731 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    105
    1
    36
    Tech
    Las Vegas
    Looks like we just wait for 2.1 to drop for the Hero!
     
  14. jasnmb

    jasnmb Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009

    Oct 26, 2009
    170
    9
    36
    I fixed your quote. ;) I got the maps update on my 1.6 phone, but buzz.google.com just takes me to a supported devices page (as someone already mentioned).

    WHAT THE HECK, GOOGLE!?
     
  15. gnarlyDUCK

    gnarlyDUCK Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009

    Oct 26, 2009
    210
    8
    56
    Orlando, FL
    ::patiently waiting:: :cool:
     
  16. yenoom

    yenoom Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I can use latitude from within Google Maps on HTC Hero (1.5) to post updates, but not to view/browse others (or verify my post !). Holy moly - come on HTC give us Android 2+

    Joe
     
  17. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,869
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    1,869
    267
    173
    Florida
    Oh no! Not another 2.1 thread! sigh
     
  18. Alcaron

    Alcaron Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009

    Oct 23, 2009
    38
    0
    15
    These comments are even more tedious than the constant "when!" threads.

    Seriously, I think given the fact Google failed SO hard in releasing SUCH a consistent steam of apps SO soon after the Hero came out that didn't work with it (and a LOT of other even newer phones) I think it's understandable why people are so antsy.

    I don't see what makes you more clever for echoing the constant cry of "oh brother" than they are for echoing their interest.

    Did you just have nothing better to do?
     
  19. chaos67731

    chaos67731 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    105
    1
    36
    Tech
    Las Vegas
    As more and more apps wont work with Android 1.anything the more people will wont 2.anything and the more you will hear about it.
     
  20. MrMattux

    MrMattux Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009

    Sep 19, 2009
    105
    0
    55
    Yes. I've been frustrated all day. Actually got excited about Buzz thinking having an Android device would mean it would work perfectly for me. Guess not.
     
  21. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,869
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    1,869
    267
    173
    Florida
    Sorry, got caught up in the crowd, I am not usualy like this. :eek:
     
  22. chaos67731

    chaos67731 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    105
    1
    36
    Tech
    Las Vegas
    So a good question is!!

    Will there be an app for that?? (For Android 1.5/1.6) :)
     
  23. tarheelalum

    tarheelalum Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    27
    0
    15
    Very true. Don't sell it, if you are not going to service it.
     
  24. chaos67731

    chaos67731 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    105
    1
    36
    Tech
    Las Vegas
    I want 2.1 on my Hero just as much as the next guy, But you have to think of it this way. When I got my laptop I was not able to go running back asking for Windows 7 a year latter. We all got the Hero with 1.5 and just the fact that they are doing all the work to get us to 2.1. We should be happy with having to wait and not being charged. :)
     
  25. mbell75

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    981
    77
    78
    SoCal
    Well Google wave was an epic fail, guess this is their new project
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...