1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

google maps nav

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ergalthema, Nov 27, 2009.

  1. ergalthema

    ergalthema Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    230
    8
    36
    When I choose a destination and start navigation, does the droid download all of the necessary map data so that it can guide me all the way even if I loose phone coverage?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Carl C

    Carl C Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    6,062
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,062
    38
    238
    Student
    London
    Sorry but I don't beleive it does cache the necessary data so I think an internet connection is needed. **Please correct me if I'm wrong**

    Being able to pre-load all the Data before hand would be awesome though :)
     
  3. Crush_Buds

    Crush_Buds Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    62
    0
    35
    Turn by turn voice guided navigation will not work as you need active GPS to guide you. But I believe if have not changed your destination, it should still be under "get directions" in the Maps application. The steps should still be displayed.
     
  4. rawness

    rawness Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    398
    21
    58
    Yes, it DOES cache the route. As long as you have a signal when you start and you don't deviate from that route, you'll be OK
     
  5. Tierlifer

    Tierlifer Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    0
    15

    Good to know. My sales route has some dead spots here in northern, PA near Towanda and Montrose. Thanks to the OP for the question as it's one I wanted to know myself.

    I actually started the GPS NAV in the middle of the dead zone and last week a few days after I got my phone looking for some shortcuts to in a territory in which I only know the basic route for...and I only got the blue dot/arrow on a blank screen with no maps not knowing you needed a cell service to get the maps. Even though I know where I was and going, this is a feature I hope that it' capable of. Since that day, I have downloaded a few GPS apps for geocaching and entertainment purposes and will test them out too. I am assuming it till tell me my coordinates and direction heading without cell service.


    Perhaps next Tuesday I will start the GPS NAV in the 3G zone and take it into the dead/no coverage area of my route and see if you guys are right. It does seem to make sense that it would based on what I have found from playing aroung with it thus far.
     
  6. ergalthema

    ergalthema Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    230
    8
    36
    It would be great if you could confirm that and post about it.
     
  7. Blitzbud

    Blitzbud Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    Wisconsin
    How do i activate the turn by turn navigation voice?
     
  8. greg72

    greg72 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    62
    0
    15
    Go to google maps search for a location and click navigate to or open the car dock app and click the navigation Icon. no need to "activate" it. It's a standard part of the phone software.
     
  9. Blitzbud

    Blitzbud Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    Wisconsin
    Thanks for the response.

    I have followed this procedure and get an initial voice instruction, but no additional voice instructions follow as I proceed on the prescribed route. No voice instructions as I make the various turns.
     
  10. flaxie

    flaxie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    15
    0
    15
    OK, I have searched & read, and don't see any answers. My Maps shows me directions but does not have voice turn by turn. Although better then nothing, not any good when your driving. I went to Maps help page, didn't find anything there. Is there a setting that turns on the voice direction? I thought the docking station was not required. I thought if I had Blue Tooth on I would get directions in my ear?
     
  11. jalann

    jalann Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    62
    5
    16
    When your map lists the directions there is Navigate button just below 'Show on Map'
    Voice directions are not available via bluetooth.
     
  12. flaxie

    flaxie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    15
    0
    15
    Wonderful, It works great.
     

Share This Page

Loading...