1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support GPS Functioning in Android

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Players' started by whiskcat, Nov 14, 2012.

  1. whiskcat

    whiskcat Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012

    Nov 13, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I have a Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2, Gingerbread 2.3.6 . I have installed the Canon CameraWindow app, which will start location logging, and then when I take pictures with my Canon Powershot S110 camera, I can later stop location logging and using wifi between the camera and the SGP4.2, transmit the GPS data to the images in/on the camera. This works, however sometimes when I map the GPS location, it is sometimes very accurate, and sometimes off some - maybe 30 or 40 yards. I just had one situation where I took two pictures about 20 yards apart and within probably less than 1 minute of each other, and the GPS for one picture was accurate to within a few feet and the other picture had the very same location on the map (I didn't think to check the actual GPS lat/long). So I'm thinking the Canon app is not recording the GPS location at a fast enough frequency, and therefore the two pictures used the same GPS coordinates. I have not seen a way in the Canon app to adjust the GPS logging frequency.

    I did install GPS Status and Toolbox app and watched the 'fix time' and it is updating every second.

    My next step, I think, is to see if I can find the log using the file manager (think I say a Canon directory) to see if the data logged can be deciphered enought to get a time interval.

    I think one basic question I have is, when GPS is turned on - it is ON, and it is then up to the app to query it to get the GPS data for it's own purposes, and the app controls all of that, such as frequency of getting the GPS data?

    So my question is, does this make sense, and if so, is there a way to make the Canon app record do location logging more frequently it there isn't a 'setting' to do this easily? Or to find out the frequenct the Canon app uses? I've e-mail Canon support, and basically got the 'we don't have any information on how the app works' line from them.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ForkliftFred

    ForkliftFred Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    May 5, 2012

    May 5, 2012
    71
    12
    38
    Hampshire, England
    That is correct. I do not have the Canon app so I don't know how it operates but it may be that it detects your position when it starts but then doesn't update, or it only logs changes it deems big enough or significant enough, or it may only check once every few minutes as you suggest.

    If you have had no luck resolving the issue, you could try some other GPS tracking app (I use Orux Maps to track my cycling but something as simple as Cyclist might be enough for your requirements, or there may be others that just record without giving speed/distance data), and then manually pick out the lat and lon at the relevant time per photo (pretty tedious if you have a lot of photos though)
     
  3. ScandaLeX

    ScandaLeX Wasn't Me
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,829
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    3,829
    966
    223
    Female
    PhiLLy
    Forklift makes sense.
    Sounds like your GPS is doing it's job but the Canon app isn't keeping up with it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...