1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support gps on in camera and location stamping pics?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by budddyx, Jan 16, 2011.

  1. budddyx

    budddyx Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    13
    0
    15
    I have updated to 2.2 , now when i take pics with my camera I notice that the gps is on and stamping the pics with locations (gps cord and street addys) is there a way to turn off that feature and just have it as a regular camera with out the location stamp?
     

    Advertisement

  2. exclamation_mark

    exclamation_mark Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    406
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    406
    120
    88
    Check in the 'footprints' app. I know that it does this same thing. Though I haven't heard of it doing it to every picture taken, only the ones taken through the actual footprints app.
     
  3. budddyx

    budddyx Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    13
    0
    15
    Hi, I dont have that app installed, my phone is mostly stock, i have beautiful widgets, opera, twitter, facebook, nhl, and adobe, thats it.
     
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    I'd try going into the camera app itself, in applications manager (menu > settings > applications > manage applications) and clear cache and defaults (and data if not greyed out). Save your pics somewhere first. ;)

    Then reboot.
     
  5. budddyx

    budddyx Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    13
    0
    15
    Hi, i tried that and it still has the gps stamping....it really must drain the battery, plus I dont want to give away all of my secret fishing spots :)
     
  6. sremick

    sremick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,521
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    2,521
    356
    163
    IT Admin
    USA
    On 2.1, this setting is in:

    Camera -> Settings. Click on the "Wrench" tab. Uncheck "GPS"
     
  7. kk2fun

    kk2fun Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I wanted to check my settings after a friend of mine had an issue with geotagging, but when I go to setting and tools, I don't even have the GPS option to check on or off, and yet when I'm in camera mode the GPS is running... any ideas?
     
  8. automagrt

    automagrt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    79
    0
    15
    It doesn't appear GPS can be turned off when taking pictures anymore. I even tried disabling GPS from the notification bar but it still turned on when I went to take a picture. Why would they disable this feature in light of all the warnings lately about people being able to determine your whereabouts based on photos you take? Unbelievable. Samsung never ceases to amaze me.
     
  9. cincyrob

    cincyrob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    257
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    ok i had to check on mine its been awhile since i had this issue as well. it is easy to turn off the GPS(geotagging) just a few steps.

    Menu-Settings-Location and Security-Use wireless network.

    uncheck the wireless network box and the GPS will turn off on the camera and no geotagging will happen. just to be safe once i unchecked the use wireless network box. i tried the camera first and it didnt have any gps info there. but if it does just restart your phone and once again make sure the use wireless network is unchecked and you will be good to go... hope this helps
     
    gadgetgirl975 likes this.
  10. fldude99

    fldude99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    872
    69
    78
    NW FL
    ^^^That's a real pain. This is a topic of numerous threads in different forums...a hot topic I should add. I picked up on vignette and it appears that it has a location on/off feature. Pretty cool camera app anyways..I think it will replace the stock app. Only thing it doesn't seem to do is panorama..which is seldom used anyhow
     
  11. cincyrob

    cincyrob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    257
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    does the camera apps effect the camera of the phone in its self? ive heard people talking about getting a different camera for the phone , i dont understand what they mean when i hear that how do you get a differnet camera??? tbh i kinda like the camera and its setup with this phone. it takes great pics.
     
  12. fldude99

    fldude99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    872
    69
    78
    NW FL
    ^^^You can try vignette on a trial, for example. Of course it doesn't change the hardware, just some options and effects..very cool stuff actually
     
  13. gadgetgirl975

    gadgetgirl975 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Southwest IL
    That is frustrating because every time you use something else, you have to turn the wireless network or GPS back on. But thanks for the info. Hopefully soon they'll make an update that puts the GPS on/off option back in the camera.
     
  14. 311Devon

    311Devon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011

    Oct 29, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I just upgraded to a Captivate for myself and my wife. I can shut the GPS off using the notifications bar or the power control widget. Makes no difference if the wifi is on or off.

    Maybe my new phones have an update making this possible? Both are running 2.2.

    I also agree with the point someone made earlier about this having a switch in the camera being a much more convenient and logical way to do this.
     

Share This Page

Loading...