1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [GUIDE] how to root US LG G Stylo on 5.1.1 and unbrick :) updated on 9/2/2015

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 6th_Hokage, Aug 22, 2015.

  1. 6th_Hokage

    6th_Hokage Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014

    Attention if you try this and end up with a brick or your device transforms and tries to destroy you; it's not my fault you did this not me. So just read all of this thread not just the O.P to get out of a bind if you reply with "the thread is too long i wont read it please help" don't expect anything short of "there's a search bar use it"

    Attention
    if you bricked via trying to root with the 5.0.2 method on 5.1.1 then just run what is below and you will have a fully working and rooted Stylo ;)


    Hello there I and Unjustified Dev have figured out how to root this puppy with the help of a video on YouTube so please read carefully and copy carefully please

    Step 1 make sure you have a Windows PC
    Step 2 download the LG Drivers from here: http://www.mylgphones.com/lg-android-usb-device-drivers
    Step 3 reboot your device into download mode
    Step 4 download this folder and unzip it to your desktop: https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=24052804347799389
    Step 5 now run ports.bat from withing the extracted folder, to find your correct port (use the one with: LGVZANDNETDIAG1)
    Step 6 in the LG_Root folder hold shift and right click and choose open command windows here
    Step 7 run Push_File.exe \\.\COM11 busybox /tmp/busybox
    ^^^^^(place correct number after "COM" with no space)^^^^^^
    it will then give you a message for example:

    C:\Users\juan\Desktop\LG_Root>Push_File.exe \\.\COM11 busybox /tmp/busybox
    Author : blog.lvu.kr
    File : busybox
    Path : /tmp/busybox

    UNLK : FAIL
    OPEN : OPEN
    TOT FileSize : 1048328

    SendStart
    WRTE : WRTE1048328byte sent

    CLSE: CLSE

    Step 8 run Push_File.exe \\.\COM11 lg_root.sh /tmp/lg_root.sh (same deal as before)
    Step 9 run Push_File.exe \\.\COM11 UPDATE-SuperSU-v2.46.zip /tmp/UPDATE-SuperSU-v2.46.zip
    Step 10 run Send_Command.exe \\.\COM11
    Step 11 type the following ls tmp which will result in:
    #ls tmp
    FAIL
    #ls tmp
    UPDATE-SuperSU-v2.46.zip
    busybox
    lg_root.sh
    now Step 11 run sh /tmp/lg_root.sh dummy 1 /tmp/UPDATE-SuperSU-v2.46.zip /tmp/busybox

    which should give you:
    ui_print *****************
    ui_print SuperSU installer
    ui_print *****************
    ui_print - Mounting /system, /data and rootfs
    ui_print - Extracting files
    Archive: /tmp/UPDATE-SuperSU-v2.46.zip
    inflating: META-INF/MANIFEST.MF
    inflating: META-INF/CERT.SF
    inflating: META-INF/CERT.RSA
    inflating: META-INF/com/google/android/update-binary
    inflating: META-INF/com/google/android/updater-script
    inflating: arm/chattr
    inflating: arm/chattr.pie
    inflating: arm/libsupol.so
    inflating: arm/su
    inflating: arm/supolicy
    inflating: arm64/libsupol.so
    inflating: arm64/su
    inflating: arm64/supolicy
    inflating: armv7/chattr.pie
    inflating: armv7/libsupol.so
    inflating: armv7/su
    inflating: armv7/supolicy
    inflating: common/99SuperSUDaemon
    inflating: common/Superuser.apk
    inflating: common/install-recovery.sh
    inflating: mips/chattr.pie
    inflating: mips/libsupol.so
    inflating: mips/su
    inflating: mips/supolicy
    inflating: mips64/libsupol.so
    inflating: mips64/su
    inflating: mips64/supolicy
    inflating: x64/libsupol.so
    inflating: x64/su
    inflating: x64/supolicy
    inflating: x86/chattr
    inflating: x86/chattr.pie
    inflating: x86/libsupol.so
    inflating: x86/su
    inflating: x86/supolicy
    ui_print - Disabling OTA survival
    ui_print - Removing old files
    ui_print - Placing files
    ui_print - Post-installation script
    ui_print - Unmounting /system and /data
    ui_print - Done !

    Step 12 type LEAVE and press enter and let your device reboot
    Step 13 Don't brick your device now that you have root
    :)
    edit: works on all known US Variants don't know about the Canada or English ones....
     

    Advertisement

    #1 6th_Hokage, Aug 22, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2015
    viperdink, stovo06, mussio and 6 others like this.
  2. 6th_Hokage

    6th_Hokage Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014

    yep the bootloader is still locked hopefully you backed up Your stock recovery
     
    #2 6th_Hokage, Aug 23, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2015
  3. Hari Seldon

    Hari Seldon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015

    Aug 20, 2015
    7
    1
    16
    Male
    Can we flash an older version if our phone came with 5.1 to begin with
     
  4. 6th_Hokage

    6th_Hokage Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014

    nope there is no way flash a older version unless you're on T-Mobile/Metro and flashed TWRP on 5.0.2 and made a backup before flashing the edited 5.1.1 update via TWRP....
     
    viperdink likes this.
  5. Varela89

    Varela89 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    May 6, 2015

    May 6, 2015
    35
    15
    28
    Worked for me as well! Thank you.
     
  6. cpotato

    cpotato Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015

    Aug 25, 2015
    12
    1
    26
    Male
    thanks for the instructions.. I'm able to get to get to download mode, figure out the com but for some reason i can't get the phone to pass MTP check. I am able to connect to the phone and pass MTP check while not in regular mode.. but when i turn phone off and switch to DL mode MTP fails. I get LG Android MTP - Fails

    I've uninstalled the drivers and reinstalled many times... I've also noticed that if i want to attempt to connect via DL mode i have reinstall the driver above everytime.. if not the phone wont even be picked up.

    Any help is appreciated..
     
  7. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    do you have usb debugging checked in developer options? what happens when you have the phone booted up normally and you plug it into the pc, does it recognize it?

    im not sure what you mean about MTP check i dont remember seeing anything about that
     
    6th_Hokage likes this.
  8. random916

    random916 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012

    Mar 30, 2012
    6
    2
    16
    Male
    Entrepreneur
    Sacramento
    If were already rooted on 5.0.2 can we make a backup of that and use it as our stock recovery?
     
  9. cpotato

    cpotato Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015

    Aug 25, 2015
    12
    1
    26
    Male
    yes the debug is on, when i boot up normally I'm able to connect and MTP connects. It's only when i try DL mode to root the phone does it fail after I plug phone in and all the drivers try to install.
     
  10. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    im not sure what you mean by stock recovery? the stock recovery was replaced with twrp and unless you used flashify to make a backup of the actual stock recovery, the only way to get the stock recovery back would be to flash the kdz

    but the drivers should already be installed before you put the phone into download mode and connect it to the pc
     
    6th_Hokage likes this.
  11. 6th_Hokage

    6th_Hokage Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014

    did you restart your PC after you installed the drivers?
     
  12. GrimGrem

    GrimGrem Newbie
    Rank:
     #355
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    May 28, 2015

    May 28, 2015
    36
    7
    26
    Did you install the first driver link? The vzw one? I could only see my port in the port.bat file after the vzw driver was installed. The other driver install showed up the right device in computer manager, but the port.bat didn't find the com port for it.

    I even tried using the port computer manager showed for the first driver install with no luck. It only liked that vzw driver. Hope that helps.
     
  13. 6th_Hokage

    6th_Hokage Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014

    what carrier do you have and did you try both LG USB Drivers Ver.3.11 and LG United Mobile Driver Ver. 3.10
     
  14. GrimGrem

    GrimGrem Newbie
    Rank:
     #355
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    May 28, 2015

    May 28, 2015
    36
    7
    26
    I have Boost and I tried the 3.11 install and then the vzw install.
     
  15. 6th_Hokage

    6th_Hokage Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014

    try the united install
     
  16. GrimGrem

    GrimGrem Newbie
    Rank:
     #355
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    May 28, 2015

    May 28, 2015
    36
    7
    26
    Well it worked after I did the vzw. Got root and updated busybox already. CPotato, you may want to try the United install as well.
     
    6th_Hokage likes this.
  17. cpotato

    cpotato Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015

    Aug 25, 2015
    12
    1
    26
    Male
    yes the drivers i am using is from above link and I am using the united install.

    my problem is every-time i plug the phone to my laptop, windows 7 wants to re-install the drivers.

    if i plug the phone after i have booted the phone regularly i get the pc reconizes the phone and i am able to read the phones data. [​IMG][/url][/IMG]

    Driver Pass.JPG

    if i plug the phone in DL mode, the re-install fails
    Driver Fail.JPG
     
  18. 6th_Hokage

    6th_Hokage Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014

    honestly the important one is com port
     
  19. cpotato

    cpotato Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015

    Aug 25, 2015
    12
    1
    26
    Male
    the problem is since MTP fails I don't see the phone mapped to the PC and thus can't access the phone as I don't know where the root directory is mapped too
     
  20. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    remove all of the lg drivers from your pc and reboot. install the correct drivers. plug your phone in (in regular use mode - i dont know what thats called lol?) after the drivers are installed. now after you plug the phone in it might say installing drivers or something similar and you'll be like wtf is this...just let it do its thing until it goes away. then try to see if you can see your phone in windows explorer, if you can, you should be good to go.

    now unplug the phone from the cord and power it off for 10 seconds. hold the volume up key and continue holding it while you plug the phone cord into your phone (the other end should still be in your computer) now proceed to start whatever step it is you're on because im really not sure what step you're on to be honest

    also if for some reason your computer doesnt see the phone in regular mode after youve installed the drivers try another usb port/make sure you're using the cable that came with the phone
     
    6th_Hokage likes this.
  21. cpotato

    cpotato Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015

    Aug 25, 2015
    12
    1
    26
    Male
    ugh.. i tried all the suggestions, uninstall, replug, different wires, laptops.. even factory reset the phone.. :(.. still getting MTP fail
     
  22. yomezu

    yomezu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015

    Aug 26, 2015
    1
    1
    6
    Male
    thanks !!!!! working 100%
     
    6th_Hokage likes this.
  23. Ferb

    Ferb Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013

    Mar 23, 2013
    23
    9
    26
    Thanks so much!!! Works perfect!
     
    6th_Hokage likes this.
  24. bmann_420

    bmann_420 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    8
    4
    6
    Im having a permission error from windows. Ive tried to filter the folder on the on the desktop in the intranet settings and cant seem to get around it.
    Using windows 7 and the internet settings seems to be in the way even though its on the deasktop
     
  25. 6th_Hokage

    6th_Hokage Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014

    can you give a better example or take a picture?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...