1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

"have to sign up for Blur" ???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by garybeck, Apr 28, 2011.

  1. garybeck

    garybeck Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    305
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    305
    17
    38
    I am thinking about getting a Cliq or Cliq2. I have a no-data account on tmobile (prepaid). I don't want/need a data connection - wifi is adequate for me at this time.

    I was watching the Cliq2 review on CNet and it says if you get this phone, you "have to sign up for Blur to use the phone" What exactly does that mean? Is there a cost? CAn I bypass Blur if I don't want it?

    Thanks
    gary
     

    Advertisement

    Tazz079 likes this.
  2. imabug

    imabug Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Skip the Cliq. It's a dog. I've heard decent things about the Cliq2 but haven't played with one. It's supposed to be a lot better than the Cliq though.

    Blur is Motorola's custom UI they slap on top of the regular Android UI. You can't bypass Blur, but it doesn't cost anything.

    as far as the data plan, I think T-Mobile makes it a requirement for smartphones.
     
  3. MyNamesTooLong

    MyNamesTooLong Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    826
    51
    78
    Data isnt required wifi will work fine...also think of a blur account like a google acount. soign up is quick easy and free. Also the cliq isnt a bad phone. It just wont be updated past 2.1(where the cliq 2 is on 2.2 but 3g as well)
     

Share This Page

Loading...