1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root hello all.. is there a way to get the vanilla lock screen?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xyojimbox, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. xyojimbox

    xyojimbox Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    53
    0
    15
    im rocking frankenrom b5 and was wondring if tehre was a way to get the vanilla lock screen on it.. thank you
     

    Advertisement

  2. xyojimbox

    xyojimbox Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    53
    0
    15
    i tried searching nothing really came up that helped..
     
  3. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,188
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    2,188
    207
    143
    College Student
    NC
  4. xyojimbox

    xyojimbox Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    53
    0
    15
    yes im a little worried to do it seems like it might be a little hairy.. thank you
     
  5. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,188
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    2,188
    207
    143
    College Student
    NC
    if you have s-off you can do a nand first and then just rename it and see if that will work... if not then restore
     
  6. xyojimbox

    xyojimbox Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    53
    0
    15
    yea i dont have s off right now.. have to do it the other way
     
  7. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,188
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    2,188
    207
    143
    College Student
    NC
    there are some apps like widget locker and lockbot that give you the choice for the vanilla launcher so u can test it out
     
    xyojimbox likes this.
  8. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    295
    48
    63
    Student / Software Developer / Web Developer
    If the ROM is Sense based, then do this in adb shell


    mkdir /system/app.disabled
    mv /system/app/HtcLockScreen.apk /system/app.disabled/

    It moves the htclockscreen into a disabled app folder. Do a nandroid first just in case it doesn't work with Frankenrom.
     
    xyojimbox likes this.
  9. Oddity

    Oddity Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    79
    23
    18
    This shoud work fine for any deodexed sense based rom. If the rom is not deodexed, you will need this extra line in adb in addition to the two above:

    mv /system/app/HtcLockScreen.odex /system/app.disabled/
     
    xyojimbox likes this.
  10. topaz330

    topaz330 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    48
    1
    16
  11. xyojimbox

    xyojimbox Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    53
    0
    15
  12. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    295
    48
    63
    Student / Software Developer / Web Developer
    That zip will remove the HTC screen and put in the vanilla one.
     
    xyojimbox likes this.
  13. xyojimbox

    xyojimbox Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    53
    0
    15
    oh ok cool.. and do it in clockwork recovery right.. just install zip from sd card? i hope all that other command stuff sounds confusing lol
     
  14. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    295
    48
    63
    Student / Software Developer / Web Developer
    Yup, just install from zip. It's very simple!
     
    xyojimbox likes this.
  15. xyojimbox

    xyojimbox Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    53
    0
    15
    ok awesome thank you :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...