• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help picking a music app.......

redfishsc

Oct 10, 2011
Living room
My device-- HTC Hero (Sprint) running Android 2.1.

I have two problems. One is music file organization, and the other is sound quality (of some very old lecture and debate recordings).

FIRST----I need an app that will acknowledge the folders I put music in as "playlists" so that I can drag/drop the folders (playlists) into my SD card. The pre-installed music app on this phone isn't cutting it, I HATE the way it organizes files (it completely ignores the folders I create and reorganizes the music by composer/source/album/etc.).

For example, I recently downloaded around 75 files (lectures) to listen to while I work (I am a grad student). I spent the time organizing them by my own categories in folders. The phone rearranged them completely and mixed them all up according to the way I described above, which drives me INSANE. They are still in their respective folders on the SD card, but they don't show up as "playlists" based on those folders.

I want it to show me the music files basically as if I were browsing the SD card itself, in other words.

This really gets crazy when you start adding in hundreds of songs amidst all the lectures. Maybe I am just missing something that's bluntly simple-- if you use this phone and can get the thing to recognize the folders as "playlists" then please tell me what I'm doing wrong.

Second----

About two dozen of the lectures (some 2+ hours long) are very old recordings, originally done on 1960's and 1970's technology, and the guy speaking (Francis Schaeffer) has a VERY raspy voice. And thus the MP3 files, even on quality earbuds, sounds PAINFUL when you turn it up loud enough to understand him. At least the lectures were free.