1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Hero Can't Find Firmware Update 2.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tiffkue588, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. tiffkue588

    tiffkue588 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Hi! I bought a Hero in April of this year. I have tried to download the firmware update 2.1 but my phone says there isn't an update available. I'm currently running version 1.5, software version 1.56.651.2. I have tried to update the firmware through my computer (Macbook) but the files are Windows programs. Any advise?? Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. howiesf

    howiesf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    79
    4
    16
    The 2.1 update is not Over The Air. You need to go to HTC's site and download the update and then sync it.
     
  3. nctmf

    nctmf Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Do you know where directions are to do this from Mac OS? From what I have found, it appears you can only do this from Windows. I find it somewhat strange that you need Windows in order to update a phone that is running a Linux based OS.

    I did see elsewhere that someone said they were going to a Sprint store to get the update. But I also read that the update (at least if you do it yourself from a Windows machine) will not preserve your data or apps, and that you would have to download the apps again, except for the data that is on the SD card. I would guess that the Sprint store would be able to backup the data for you though.
     
  4. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,869
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    1,869
    267
    173
    Florida
    Nope! You will loose everything except what is on your SD card and your contacts, if they are Google contacts (rather than phone contacts) Your apps can be re-downloaded from the market the first time you go to the market. You list will be there.
     
  5. Guitardoc64

    Guitardoc64 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    74
    15
    38
    Music Store guitar/amp tech
    Lake Charles, LA
    Correct. It will clear all your data. Anything from the market will still show in downloads and need to be reinstalled. there is an app on the market called MyBackup with a free trial that will let you back up contacts, call logs, etc and all your apps.
     
  6. nctmf

    nctmf Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Ok, then maybe the person that commented about the store, when they got the update the store went ahead and did the re-download of the apps. Glad to hear that at least they remain listed for you in the downloads list so you can get them back.

    What about data that an app may save? Do the apps generally save to the SD card?

    And what about updating from a Mac for the HTC Hero with the official/supported update?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...