1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Home screen lag

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bigyid, Jun 28, 2012.

  1. bigyid

    bigyid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012

    Jun 3, 2012
    56
    5
    16
    Devon
    Anyone else getting bad lag on home screen after lets say browsing internet ? I browse internet for a while then exit and icons take ages to load up on home screen
     

    Advertisement

  2. ronlloyd

    ronlloyd Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    4
    1
    6
    I am getting this problem too. Dont know what to do about it tho'.
     
  3. bigyid

    bigyid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012

    Jun 3, 2012
    56
    5
    16
    Devon
    Is this normal.?
     
  4. littlejohno

    littlejohno Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    40
    1
    16
    Mine sometimes freezes, I read somewhere that removing some of the Samsung programs helps tremendously with the amount of ram used.

    But the above it's a bit beyond me this it's my first android phone
     
  5. MisterEz

    MisterEz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012

    Jun 12, 2012
    23
    1
    16
    I get this quite often.

    Close the browser, to find just a blank screen with the wallpaper showing for a second... then the icons slowly come back, followed finally by the weather widget.
     
  6. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    Use the back key instead of the home key when leaving apps that you don't want to keep open. It will help speed things up.
     
  7. bigyid

    bigyid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012

    Jun 3, 2012
    56
    5
    16
    Devon
    Not possible when browsing as it just reloads last Page
     
  8. moix

    moix Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012

    May 1, 2012
    54
    4
    16
    Try this

    1. Settings-> developer options-> and Window animation scale and Transition Animation scale -> change both of those to 0.5x (or 0 for both, for instant reactions).


    Source XDA
     
  9. bigyid

    bigyid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012

    Jun 3, 2012
    56
    5
    16
    Devon
    Did this already ;-) worked a treat for a day or so then back to lag on screen
     
  10. Slide83

    Slide83 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    71
    71
    33
    Wow, this is pretty concerning. I haven't seen this mentioned in any reviews.... Is this the only place where the OS lags?
     
  11. Mar

    Mar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    211
    29
    43
    I get this as well and yes mostly after browsing. I do press the back button but sometimes the back button doesnt actually go any further back and stays on a blank page
     
  12. bigyid

    bigyid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012

    Jun 3, 2012
    56
    5
    16
    Devon
    Seems to be a problem with OS then.? Glad it's not just me
     
  13. jasvncnt1

    jasvncnt1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    60
    3
    36
    IT
    union, NJ
    Not sure if this will help...can try to Turn off double tap home s-voice launch.
     
  14. bigyid

    bigyid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012

    Jun 3, 2012
    56
    5
    16
    Devon
    Already tried this
     
  15. bigyid

    bigyid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012

    Jun 3, 2012
    56
    5
    16
    Devon
    Guys I'm on the verge of sending phone back because of the lag after browsing, can some of you check your phone and tell me if after browsing or playing games does it take ages for icons and weather application to reappear?
     
  16. MelonSplitter

    MelonSplitter Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    97
    4
    16
    Construction
    San Bernardino, CA.
    My phone will be here Monday. I will definitaly be looking out for this. C'mon Samsung, quit trying to ship out as many phones as you can and start addressing some of these problems.
     
  17. droblyer

    droblyer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    I don't have my s3 yet but home screen redraws are not specific to the s3. Some android phones do this. Try using a launcher that has an option to keep the launcher in memory and see if that helps.
     
  18. bigyid

    bigyid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012

    Jun 3, 2012
    56
    5
    16
    Devon
    Sorry buddy but haven't a clue what your on about,it's my first Android phone sorry. This forum is full of S3 owners so if everyone who reads this states whether they have lag where icons take ages to load after browsing, we will know if its a common problem or if the phone I have has a problem :(
     
  19. Manse

    Manse Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012

    Jun 18, 2012
    36
    2
    16
    Just tested it out on mine, browsed the internet for a bit and pressed the home button, everything loads up right away.
     
  20. naviwilliams

    naviwilliams Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    538
    64
    78
    Male
    Atlanta
    I've not noticed this. Maybe there are loads of apps in the Task Manager? Try closing apps; hold the home button for a second or two...
     
  21. universem2

    universem2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012

    Jun 26, 2012
    106
    6
    36
    Wow this is scary for me coming from a 4s.
     
  22. eluno

    eluno Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

    Sep 14, 2010
    169
    28
    63
    c'mon give sammy a break the phone just got released you surely don't expect them to fix this issue in matter of days do you? get real

    comming from a 4s myself the 4s ani't got nothing on the GSIII nice try tho:D
     
  23. universem2

    universem2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012

    Jun 26, 2012
    106
    6
    36
    Lol I probably sound like an iwhore but I'm not. I am open minded. I just don't want a laggy phone. I purchased my whole family sg3s..... Anyways please tell me of your experience from your iPhone to the new SG3.
     
  24. rmcf

    rmcf Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    78
    3
    16
    Yeah this is definitely not s3 exclusive. It happens quite often on my Droid X and it annoys me like no other.
     
  25. dmc32

    dmc32 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012

    Jun 10, 2012
    7
    1
    6
    Student
    Brisbane, Australia
    Yeah happens to me at times, although I just tried the screen animation speed change and changed it to 0.5x which seems to make a different (cheers Moix) I'll let you know how it goes.
     

Share This Page

Loading...