• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

How can I tell if a software update is legitimate?

Hello I'm new to posting on these sites so bare with me.
Any time I buy a new phone I will get a software update or firmware update a few days after using it I'm curious if there is a way to find out if the update is authentic or not I've been researching a little bit on the topic so far I'm not seeing any that found a fake update
I'm using a Samsung galaxy J7 Prime
Metro pcs
The reason I am asking is because I've noticed my phones will act perfectly fine befor applying the update normally I will wait a few days / weeks befor applying and shortly after I will start experiencing performance issues and my apps will start acting weird I will post a screen shot of the update I am getting now

Any input will be greatly appreciated
Screenshot_20180724-133655.png
Screenshot_20180724-133659.png

I am no expert and don't really know how to tell, but I've had these updates from MetroPCS from time to time with no problem.

I guess I figured that if it comes on when I open the phone, and I didn't click on a link to make it happen, either it's really from MetroPCS or the phones already been hacked.

Being not an expert, that is just the way I figure it, and I could be totally wrong.

I also subscribe to a fee based Anti-Malware app, and hopefully it will be aware of threats.

I don't keep much personal info on the phone, and definitely don't use it to pay anything. I figure any app can be hacked, and if it has access to my bank account, it's dangerous. Something as innocent as that Starbucks account can drain your account if a hacker cracks Starbucks.

Upvote 0