• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root How to Upgrade to 5.7906 from rooted 2.3.4

Somewhat of a newbie here.

I have a D3 on verizon network operating on Droid version 2.3.4
My phone is rooted.

How can I upgrade to ver 5.7906? Please, easy to understand instructions would be helpful.

Thanks.

Your phone is rooted, but have you done anything else? Have you installed a custom ROM? Have you removed any pre-installed software (i.e., bloatware)?

If you do not have a custom ROM, what is the system version number in settings->about phone? (the numbers before the "XT862")

Upvote 0
I did remove some pre-installed bloatware that I really don't care if I ever get back again.

Ah, but there's the rub; probably the easiest way to update is to let the OTA install, but it will fail on install if you have removed any pre-installed bloatware.

I think that your best bet is to use a utility called RSD Lite to flash the 5.6.890 software, with of the preinstalled software, back onto your phone. I believe that this will do the equivalent of a factory data reset, so you will lose all data and apps.

The instructions and the two files to download are in this thread: http://androidforums.com/droid-3-all-things-root/408712-root-ultimate-droid3-root-rom-thread.html

I believe that those instructions are pretty easy to follow.

See the section at the bottom, "Unbricking/SBFing the DROID3 (Or returning to stock without a Nandroid)"

After you install that and restart the phone, you will have to set up the phone from scratch, and it should be an unrooted, 5.6.890 phone. Then you can update to 5.7.906 by going to settings->about phone->software updates.