• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root HTC M8 - Unlocked Bootloader, Rooted but Still Cannot Uninstall Bloatware

mricu

Lurker
Jan 29, 2011
Hi all,

Please forgive me if I don't provide all the details to my issue as I'm not an expert with rooting (yet), and at the same time I appologise for the potentially long post, but am hoping someone out there can help with my issue.

I have an HTC M8 running Lollipop on AT&T and decided that I really hate the bloatware floating around on my phone so went through the rooting process in order to forcefully remove the ATT software. So far this is what I have done:

- Made back-ups of my apps and settings using Clockworkmod Helium/HTC Sync Manager
- Unlocked bootloader through HTCDev website
- Rooted the phone using TWRP (twrp-2.8.7.0-m8.img) and installed SuperSU (sorry if i'm not using the correct terms as I'm not sure if these are the programs that actually root the phone, but just wanted to provide references to the programs I used)
- Validated root using Root Checker and everything came out as being correctly rooted.
- Tried getting S-Off through rumrunner_HTC_0.5.0 but didn't look like it worked.

So currently I have an HTC M8 "rooted" phone with S-On and loads properly into the OS (from what I can tell).

I installed Titanium Back-up which is what I intend to use to remove bloatware. It was granted super user access. But still needed to install BusyBox.

I tried installing BusyBox 1.23.2 and upon startup it gains super user access, but when I try to install it the phone it does one of two things:

a) gives me an error message saying "It looks like the installation of BusyBox was not succesful. Try installing to a different location, that may resolve the issue." It is being installed to /system/xbin.

b) It just resets the phone and goes through a normal start-up cycle, but still shows that it is not installed.