1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support ICS available, lose game data if upgrade?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by FirebirdStud, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. FirebirdStud

    FirebirdStud Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010

    Sep 19, 2010
    453
    9
    56
    Male
    Student
    Minnesota
    Hey everyone!

    I just got the notification that ICS is available for my tab finally! But, will I lose game data if I upgrade to ICS?

    Im not rooted and not sure I want to go to the trouble of rooting to backup game data, and then unroot and update, root, and install game data and unroot.

    So, will I lose all of the app data if I upgrade?

    Many Thanks
    Cody
     

    Advertisement

  2. FirebirdStud

    FirebirdStud Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010

    Sep 19, 2010
    453
    9
    56
    Male
    Student
    Minnesota
    Anyone? I want to upgrade tonight
     
  3. landovr

    landovr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    723
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    723
    75
    78
    Firefighter
    Alberta Canada
    You shouldn't lose any data.
     
    FirebirdStud likes this.
  4. FirebirdStud

    FirebirdStud Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010

    Sep 19, 2010
    453
    9
    56
    Male
    Student
    Minnesota
    ok, thanks. Im just really far in a couple games and I dont want to start over. That would annoy me.

    Plus, they are not online games so I cant create an account and save the information
     
  5. TJGoSurf

    TJGoSurf Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    1,419
    136
    143
    Male
    Oil Engineer stuff
    CO
    All my Angry Birds games kept the information
     
    FirebirdStud likes this.
  6. FirebirdStud

    FirebirdStud Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010

    Sep 19, 2010
    453
    9
    56
    Male
    Student
    Minnesota
    Ok thank you! I was just nervous as I didn't want to lose all my hard work ;-)
     
  7. vpereyra

    vpereyra Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    20
    0
    35
    you'll maybe need to recover factory default since some shortcuts are not correctly cleaned, if so, you will lose your game data
     
  8. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    I did not do a hard reset and simply deleted the said shortcuts. Hard reset is not a must here.
     
    FirebirdStud likes this.
  9. FirebirdStud

    FirebirdStud Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010

    Sep 19, 2010
    453
    9
    56
    Male
    Student
    Minnesota
    Thanks! I didn't have to reset anything and it saved all of my data. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...