1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root ICS CM7 OMG Unbelievable!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by RooteytootyEvo, Nov 3, 2011.

  1. RooteytootyEvo

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011

    Oct 23, 2011
    29
    9
    36
    Truck Driver
    Pa
    This is from another site i frequent, just wanted to throw this up. This is my current ROM and holy geezus its badass. Hope this wasnt posted.

    Looking for ICS ROM for your Evo 4G? Well, here
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I'll chalk it up to the list of things to flash tomorrow.

    Thanks!
     
  3. geewhiz

    geewhiz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010

    Dec 10, 2010
    186
    35
    43
    bayou country
    Hmm. It might be time to upgrade and try some of these ICS roms. But MikG has been so good to me...

    Last time I was on CM I had to find a good Gapps, find a workable Sprint vvm, fix netflix and do a gps fix. Are those still have to's with the newest version?
     
  4. NaterTots

    NaterTots Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    704
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    704
    581
    183
    Plumber
    CT
    geewhiz, The current Gapps packages are very good and they include the Sprint VVM. so very easy.
    The GPS will probably still need a fix as mine is hit or miss on the current Roms based off of GB 2.3.7 and I don't know anything about the Netflix.
     
    geewhiz and ocnbrze like this.
  5. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    in the rom/kernel sticky under aosp, there is a current gapp file that has vvm included. it works and i have used it many times.

    looks like i will have to try this out, this weekend.
     
    NaterTots, RooteytootyEvo and geewhiz like this.
  6. zangetsu

    zangetsu Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011

    Jun 15, 2011
    47
    10
    18
    Graphic Designer
    So Cal
    its pretty sweet looks visually appealing although the only gripe i have is that the virtual home buttons are displayed as well which kinda sux we have physical home buttons already so its just eating up real estate other then that its pretty cool although it may take a lil getting used to at first i love the font tho!
     
  7. androidislandr

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011

    Nov 3, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I installed this on Evo4G, but I could not get 3G to work, so it's pretty useless to me at the moment. Any ideas to fix? I reflashed my radio.zip (for Wimax, and Radio) I would love to use this, but no network connectivity. I am impressed with how it performs so far... :)
     
  8. Chaco

    Chaco Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010

    Jul 12, 2010
    141
    33
    43
    Business Analyst
    OH
    i am running the regular Cyanogenmod 7.1.0 v 2.3.7 and it works great on my end. I dont know about you all, but i have had it for a week and it has not given me one problem at all. great speed and battery life... I am Sense lover... but i have to admit i am liking non-Sense quite good.

    So i rather rock this out until the actual source code for ICS is out and have the real experience.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    that is odd. try wiping dalvik cache and cache and see if that helps. also just an fyi aosp roms show the true signal strength of what your phone is receiving. before in the past your phone will always show 3g when you might be getting 1x or no signal.
     
    RooteytootyEvo likes this.
  10. S00NR1

    S00NR1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    66
    2
    16
    Assistant Golf Professional
    Norman, OK
    Running just OK but several things are aloof -- the standard beautiful widget home weather doesn't fit the screen and the font is awful. Where is the standard ICS font?
     
  11. RooteytootyEvo

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011

    Oct 23, 2011
    29
    9
    36
    Truck Driver
    Pa
  12. RooteytootyEvo

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011

    Oct 23, 2011
    29
    9
    36
    Truck Driver
    Pa
    I thought sense roms were the s*** until i started using CM roms, this ICS is killer though.
     
  13. RooteytootyEvo

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011

    Oct 23, 2011
    29
    9
    36
    Truck Driver
    Pa
    I have yet to have a problem with Netflix, and if GPS was ever a problem i would never Root or Rom ever again... I am a nerd truck driver lmao so i have to have it.
     
  14. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    First off, awesome. I may just try this rom out. I've been very happy with my current CM7 setup and changing it seems crazy, but for the ICS includes... may be worth it :)

    Most of these have been addressed, but I haven't seen anyone mention the GPS driver you can flash. Works great. I'm using it, and GPS works **much** better (notice the two "*", means even more emphasis... :) )

    (don't have the link for that though, but I know there are a couple of threads that link to it...)
     
  15. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    i think the link in the roms kernel sticky has a more updated gapps file plus it has the sprint's vvm included.
     
  16. RooteytootyEvo

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011

    Oct 23, 2011
    29
    9
    36
    Truck Driver
    Pa
    Well ima have to try those files. My Netflix is good, but my GPS isnt. Its getting me directions, but its not following. Like it just shows the map now and doesnt guide me at all, i hope this gets a fix soon.
     
  17. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    for the gps fix try downloading the latest qualcomm drivers:
    [FIX][AOSP] All GPS fixes! - xda-developers
     
  18. RooteytootyEvo

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011

    Oct 23, 2011
    29
    9
    36
    Truck Driver
    Pa
    So these drivers work the same as any other zip im to assume? copy, paste, reccovery flash zip from card? Do i need to wipe or anything?
     
  19. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    I just flashed it. Now my gps is similar to that of NSA and CIA spy satellites. Only exaggerating a little bit.
     
    ocnbrze and MizzouBrent like this.
  20. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    Can we get some screenies please?!
     
  21. Raekwon

    Raekwon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    193
    39
    53
    Male
    US
    Yes, Screenshots would be much appreciated. :D
     
  22. ICS!!!!!!! MOTHER F***ER!!!!! im downloading it now,flashing in 10min! i WILL be posing some screenSHOTs once back from the grocery store.thanks for the post!!! this is AWESOME!:D
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  23. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    this is not a complete ics rom. it is just themed with ics that was pulled from the ics sdk that was released a few weeks ago. just an fyi
     

  24. I know. Its cm7.1 based themed yo kinda resemble ics.I'm in live with ics so anything labeled ics gets ran on my phone. But I've been using it for a few hours. It pretty much a blue themed aosp with a ics home launcher. Nothing special. Its nice though. But I may as well have stayed on cm7 with the cm7ics theme I had on it. It was actually closer to the look of the 4.0 on my sdk than this rom. But nonetheless very nice themes aosp.
     

  25. And I dig your ash avatar.LOL ;)this,is my BOOMSTICK!
     
    Granite1 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...