1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General I'll start this off.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by horsecharles, Jul 19, 2016.

  1. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #125
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,223
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,223
    315
    173
    NYC
    Ignoring no NFC, I recommend you get this(yes, I mean YOU!).

    AND... don't be put off by the size. It's only a smidgen larger than Stylo.
    PLUS... the added benefit:
    ZMAX PRO @ 6" gives you that in true screen size, as its physical buttons- instead of soft- don't steal screen real estate.
    Conversely, Stylo 5-3/4 becomes 5-1/2 because the soft buttons "steal" 1/4".
     

    Advertisement

  2. LG Fanatic

    LG Fanatic Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    May 13, 2014

    May 13, 2014
    294
    181
    68
    Male
    Northeast USA
    I would be soooo tempted to get this over the Stylo 2 plus but the screen is little too big for me. Though, I would probably get used to it.
     
  3. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #125
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,223
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,223
    315
    173
    NYC
    Zmax Pro dimensions 6.5 x 3.30 x 0.35", minus Stylo 2 Plus dimensions 6.11 x 3.13 x 0.29",
    equals 0.39 x 0.17 x 0.06"
    I'd bet that, without turning on, side by side they appear fairly equal ...
     
  4. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #125
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,223
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,223
    315
    173
    NYC
    I'm getting it right away. It's a no brainer for a holdover phone at that price especially.
     
  5. mussio

    mussio Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    137
    36
    43
    I'm getting this Zmax Pro for sure. See you guys soon.
     
    horsecharles likes this.
  6. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #125
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,223
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,223
    315
    173
    NYC
    I remember coupla years ago when first zmax hit metro... locked bootloader was a deal breaker.
    This time around that shouldn't be an issue, hopefully we get plenty dev work.
     
    mussio likes this.
  7. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #125
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,223
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,223
    315
    173
    NYC
    The extra 16gb works so well for me.
    That's enough space for multiusers, for turning key user apps into system apps, for redundantly having on internal a phone backup + any key data from external.
    I "think" we're gaining a whole 1/2" of screen with the buttons placement...
    The USB is gonna make life so much easier.
    Band aggregation sounds promising...

    And $99? I'm excited!
     
  8. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #50
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,253
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    The first zmax never actually had a "Locked bootloader". A lot of us were misinformed, myself included. The zmax had system write protection which was put in place by the bootloader, but was not the same as an actual locked bootloader. As far as the zmax pro, only time will tell. I'll probably be getting one as soon as it hits the shelves as well.
     
  9. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #125
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,223
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,223
    315
    173
    NYC
    Thanks. Yes, the fix since posted removed the write protection.
    Hope it works for this one too / nothing else is required.

    AND, it's good news you're getting it... you do a lot of great work.
     
    #9 horsecharles, Jul 26, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2016
    Masterchief87 likes this.
  10. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #50
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,253
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Thank you! All I can say is if zte hasn't already changed the way that the system write protection is implemented, they probably will very soon so I wouldn't take any ota updates until we know more.
     
  11. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,222
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,222
    13,306
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Guide to Chinese Androids(me), thinks there's not enough here to make me want to change from Oppo R7 Plus, and in a couple ways the ZTE would possibly be a downgrade for me. :)
     
  12. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #125
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,223
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,223
    315
    173
    NYC
    I hope they're not planning on shooting themselves in the foot.
    I actually don't think they have that many resources. Correct me if you feel I'm mistaken... From reading up various accounts of independent dev work on the initial Metro Zmax, code from other companies & phone models was turning up all over the place.
    I was like, you're gonna pirate-without even replacing others' names with your own...
     
  13. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #50
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,253
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    I think I remember hearing the same thing. You are right that zte does not put as much time and money into firmware development as other companies like Samsung Motorola HTC or LG to name a few. This can be a good thing though, for people like me who prefer the look and feel of stock Android and don't care for all the changes made by other OEMs.
     
    xyourxhighnessx likes this.
  14. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #125
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,223
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,223
    315
    173
    NYC
    Hhhmmmm...
    1. The 4/64 instead of the 3/32...?
    2. If not coming to Metro, maybe a lot more than $99? Not to mention killing of the grandfathered unlimited plan...
    3. Still won't have NFC.
    4. Maybe no carrier band aggregation like Z'?
    Next three don't really matter:
    4. No FM, like Z'.
    5. No USB C.
    6. Still on Lollipop.

    Now, as for the rest of the identical specs, I'd say Oppo better quality:
    Graphics and Sound.
    ONLY THING: if Oppo has soft buttons, Zmax might have larger screen area.

    And Oppo obviously better @:
    Processing, Ram, Battery Life.
    AND DUAL SIM HUGE.

    Conclusion: since no NFC, I'd stick with the $99 model "as a holdover"... If R7 Plus only $100-something ok... over $200, no.
     
    mikedt likes this.
  15. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #50
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,253
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    I think softkeys are actually better because you can have a phone with a smaller bezel below the screen so that the screen represents a larger percentage of the phone's size. This allows a phone with the same size screen to be slightly smaller in some cases. Also, for things like gaming or watching videos or viewing pictures, the navigation bar is hidden giving you use of the entire screen. With that said, I am content either way whether a phone has softkeys or capacitive buttons. Just some food for thought.
     
    horsecharles and mikedt like this.
  16. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,222
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,222
    13,306
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    A little bit more digging on my part,
    http://www.techweb.com.cn/tele/2016-07-21/2363982.shtml
    I think the Zmax Pro is currently exclusive to Metro, and is not available here in China at the moment. Although ZTE has heck of a lot of devices that are of course. :thumbsupdroid: ...but non are carrier subsidized.

    I've considered NFC, and I did have a phone that had NFC(Oppo Find 7a), but never used it. Here(China) quite frankly I've only really seen NFC been used for Apple Pay or Samsung Pay, and to assist in pairing Bluetooth devices. Everyone I know including myself, and from what I've seen, use either Tenpay or Alipay, which which don't require NFC, you just scan a QR code with them. Many Chinese phones just don't have NFC in them, even now. Which in this country really leaves mostly flagship Samsung Galaxys and Apple iPhones, as having NFC and being used.

    AFAIK there's no gyro in the Zmax Pro, only accelerometer, so if playing Pokemon Go :D ...or whatever other AR or VR, that might be a consideration.
     
    #16 mikedt, Jul 27, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2016
    horsecharles likes this.
  17. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #125
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,223
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,223
    315
    173
    NYC
    I like the QR, idea... Works ok in McDonald's for coupons.
    My Lord, you must have such a buffet of nice phones to choose from... I'm jealous.
    I just coincidentally had a long convo at the airport with a lady from Shanghai, I am really intrigued to go to China.
     
    mikedt likes this.
  18. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,222
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,222
    13,306
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    I've found it's good for paying for taxis, ones that I've hailed in the street, and not Uber or whatever. Driver shows a QR on his phone with the fare, scan, enter PIN and done.

    Oh yeh, it's a real ball..LOL..but there is good, bad and downright garbage of course(how many different ways can you spell Samsung?)

    I've had a look at ZTE's China site...
    http://www.ztedevice.com.cn/
    ...and I can't find anything that might be the same as the Zmax Pro, because sometimes phones might be given different branding here.
    There's the Axon Max, which is a ZTE flagship, but apart from same processor and 6 inch screen, they're definitely different devices. I think it might be China and/or Asia distribution only.
    http://www.gsmarena.com/zte_announces_60inch_axon_max-news-15622.php

    I've got Oppo R7 Plus, which I've had for almost a year now. Still completely happy with, and will probably be keeping it for another year.
     
  19. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #125
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,223
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,223
    315
    173
    NYC
    Sorry, I can't figure out how to split quote.

    I really like how QR keeps things simple / doesn't add a ton of cost.

    Axon 7 is what most LTE byod folk are crazy about over here:
    http://m.gsmarena.com/zte_axon_7-8067.php
    $399... Less than half other flagships AND equal or better specs all around.

    Since you don't need NFC, you have a great phone. Here there are two variants of it... 3 ram/32 storage & 4/64
    I need it to connect wirelessly to printer and TV without router.
     
  20. Elix9000

    Elix9000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015

    Aug 3, 2015
    135
    70
    63
    Male
    Philadelphia
    Hey I was wondering if your already a metropcs customer would the device still be available for 99$? Im assuming yes but Id like to be sure
     
  21. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #50
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,253
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Yes, as long as you haven't bought a discounted phone from them in at least 90 days.
     
    horsecharles likes this.
  22. MonteK73

    MonteK73 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #508
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013

    Apr 30, 2013
    83
    28
    33
    Male
    LA, California area
    horsecharles likes this.
  23. averagewonder

    averagewonder Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    Jul 23, 2012
    532
    86
    78
    Male
    Student/C.N.A
    Palm Coast, Fla
    I got a question about the type C charging. Can I use a standard micro USB to charge or just a type C?
     
  24. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #50
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,253
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    You can but you need an adapter.
     
  25. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #50
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,253
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    In order to use a regular micro USB cable you need one of these.
     

    Attached Files:

ZTE Zmax Pro

ZTE Zmax Pro
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...