1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [International] Danvdh ROMs

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Hawker, May 25, 2014.

  1. volimte21

    volimte21 Developer (theme)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    4,953
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014

    Jan 14, 2014
    4,953
    1,356
    323
    Female
    smart phones
    NY
    I see that there was an update on the 30th of August (I think)

    #1
     

    Advertisement

    Sydney99 likes this.
  2. tim1989

    tim1989 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    58
    5
    16
    Hi Guys, sorry for reviving this slightly older thread again! I have just rooted my S4. Had my old S2 rooted but as that was a few years ago I'm out of practice with the whole flashing these days!

    After reading through this thread I decided I would like to give it a go. So far all I have done is root my phone. No custom recovery flashed, nor a custom ROM.

    From what I have read, I will require TWRP recovery, is that right? And also a different kernel (saw on the XDA thread possibly Googy or Ktoonsez). I'm not sure on the order of doing things. What should I flash first, kernel or recovery? Also, my laptop is a Mac (please don't kill me! ;) ). I do have an old windows laptop but its slow as hell and half the time wont connect to my network to download anything. Is it possible to do this from a mac, or am I best trying with windows and flashing through Odin?

    Sorry again for all these questions, if anyone can help I would really appreciate it!

    Cheers!
     
  3. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    As you are rooted you should already have a custom recovery installed (eg. CWM) so you can therefore install any other recovery you want through your existing recovery (eg. install a .zip file) and not use your PC at all.

    You don't HAVE to use TWRP, as PhilZ is another option.

    As for kernels, the current big-hitters in no particular order are:
    Googy
    Alucard
    KT

    As you mention installing a new kernel, I assume you are wanting to flash dan's GE ROM. If you are installing the CM ROM, then I would stick with the bundled stock CM kernel, but you can of course change to any of the above if desired. Either way, if you install a different kernel, you will have to use the appropriate GE/CM kernel from either of the above. Dan's CM ROM is M9 based which uses the old (and better) CM kernel, so if you install googy/alucard on this, you will need to install one of the older versions. KT has stopped developing, and his last CM kernel is M9-compliant.

    I would:
    1. Flash either PhilZ 6.58.4 or TWRP 2.7.1.0 (both recovery's latest versions have had a few reports of external sd card problems). If you install TWRP, you will have to use Heimdal if downloaded the .tar version, or download the .img file and install using the dd command at an adb prompt. Philz supplies .tar and .zip downloads, so the choice is yours.
    2. Reboot into your new recovery then do a full wipe and flash Dan's ROM .zip
    3. Still in recovery, flash the kernel of your choice (possibly).
    4. Reboot and set up your new ROM
     
  4. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    719
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    Now now hawker, he doesn't have to have a recovery to be rooted, I didn't for months when I first got the phone, I rooted as I got it out the box, but didn't flash a recovery. My guess is he has done the same....

    However everything else said is correct :) :p

    Personally I've only seen bad things trying to use Mac's and flashing phone's so I'd for the Windows. Or some apps in the market claim to give a custom recovery rooted, I vaguely remember trying and failing on s4, but mobile Odin worked on s2 with siyah(obviously not available the s4!)
     
    tim1989 likes this.
  5. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I did say SHOULD!
    :)
     
    tim1989 likes this.
  6. tim1989

    tim1989 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    58
    5
    16
    Thanks for the responses!

    I did not have a custom recovery installed, I have now flashed (via Odin) Philz, but cannot boot into recovery. I hold the required buttons, the Samsung screen shows with RECOVERY MODE in small letters at the top of the screen, but it then goes blank, vibrates again and boots normally :thinking:

    I was advised by my Dad to use CyanogenMod Installer to get going, then just flash the ROM I want, but even that seems to fail.

    And I have indeed gone for the Windows option, far easier using Odin to flash! :)
     
  7. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Are you sure you flashed Philz for the correct device?
    For example, I have a GT-i9505, and PhilZ recoveries can be downloaded from here
     
  8. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,647
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,647
    5,849
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
  9. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008

    Dec 2, 2008
    699
    49
    88
    Male
    Senior software developer
    UK
    I am enjoying this ROM (GE) more than others that I have tried in the past :)

    Before using this ROM I was on stock 4.2.2 and suffered hourly random reboots, and decided that a factory reset was in order. So I rooted, backed up everything I needed with Titanium and installed this ROM. Twenty minutes later I had everything back as it was.

    I still had random reboots, until I installed googy kernel and haven't had a single problem since.
     
  10. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    The random reboots are a known problem on stock kernel, solved as you did by flashing a custom kernel.

    Couldn't agree with you more that this rom in combo with googymax is impressive and hard to beat!
     
  11. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008

    Dec 2, 2008
    699
    49
    88
    Male
    Senior software developer
    UK
    I also installed Gravity box, I just love the extra level of tweaks available through it.
     
  12. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    Gravity box is a very good way to pimp your phone, there's loads of options.

    Personally I've ditched it as I like to use ART which is incompatible with xposed mods; the phone runs faster and battery is better with ART.
     
    Ageless Stranger likes this.
  13. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008

    Dec 2, 2008
    699
    49
    88
    Male
    Senior software developer
    UK
    I think I'll give it a try
     
  14. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    719
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    I'm still on dalvik as I prefer the extra mods and 4hrs of screen on time is perfectly good for me :) and I have a spare battery or two so if I did get caught short :) can't wait for xposed to become art compatible though :)
     
  15. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008

    Dec 2, 2008
    699
    49
    88
    Male
    Senior software developer
    UK
    I went back to Davlik, while I appreciate the optimisations using ART I really prefer the customisation capabilities of xposed.
     
  16. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    I can understand that, gravity box adds huge amount of extra functionality
     
  17. caloyzki

    caloyzki Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012

    Feb 13, 2012
    327
    11
    38
    Hi. I just purchased 64gb samsung evo sd card. How come my phone can't read the files? And also wheni checked it under storage it only says 9.7gb available. Any idea why?
     
  18. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Just to let you guys and gals know that Dan's GPE (Lolipop v5) is now available.
    I've not had time to download and try it out yet tho.
     
    Sydney99, sntaylor and ironass like this.
  19. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    719
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    I really wanna try it but I want the features I get with and I've not been 100% keen on the material design/New layout.... but I'll give it a go still ;-)
     
  20. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008

    Dec 2, 2008
    699
    49
    88
    Male
    Senior software developer
    UK
    Has anyone tried this ROM yet? I'm thinking about wiping and installing this sometime today
     
  21. Riche101

    Riche101 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    739
    137
    113
    Male
    EarthCaust Photography, Volunteer, Enviromental Re
    UK- Edinburgh, Brazil - 2 hrs from Rio de Janeiro
    I'm waiting,
    The other news I am back until March then of back to Brazil. as got hitched
     
    sntaylor likes this.
  22. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008

    Dec 2, 2008
    699
    49
    88
    Male
    Senior software developer
    UK
    Congrats :)

    I've just flashed this ROM, rebooted and everything seems stable and fast so far.

    Just waiting for google to restore all my apps
     
  23. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    Anyone got adaway working on this ¿?

    And whilst on the subject about apps working, what about Viper?
     
    #248 Sydney99, Dec 17, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2014
  24. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Viper works just fine
    Not tried adaway as the host file bundled with the rom zip is already blocking
     
  25. Riche101

    Riche101 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    739
    137
    113
    Male
    EarthCaust Photography, Volunteer, Enviromental Re
    UK- Edinburgh, Brazil - 2 hrs from Rio de Janeiro
    Flashed it but it had no root?
     

Share This Page

Loading...