1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [International] Trying to flash OmniROM and getting error - HELP!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Albie999, Jan 14, 2014.

  1. Albie999

    Albie999 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    156
    14
    38
    OK, took the leap to OmniROM, but getting an error when trying to install. I have installed TWRP 2.6.3.0, booted into TWRP, selected Wipe and slider for factory reset

    Then select Install, and selected the Omnirom zip file (omni-4.4.2-20140113-i9300-nightly.zip) then swipe to confirm flash

    It checks the MD5, it then says "formatting /system", then "extracting /system" then it says

    set_metadata_recursive: some changes failed
    E: error executing updater binary in zip '/external .......
    Error flashing zip '/external_sd/ROM's/omni-4.4.2 ...........
    Updating partition details .......

    and then it shows a red failed message

    If I reboot, I just go back to TWRP .. where I can restore my NAND

    What is wrong here?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Yatezy

    Yatezy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    592
    254
    113
    I've read a few instances where it's failed using TWRP and some of the options that's have been said are reset to default (which I imagine you won't need) and unchecked check MD5 sum
     
  3. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Hey Albie i just replied to your pm mate.
    Yatesy isnt there a security thing in recovery that has to be turned off to flash Omni?
    Im very new to TWRP tbh. I just recently put it on my tablet and havent used it much
     
  4. Albie999

    Albie999 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    156
    14
    38
    Sorted it ... seemed I needed the latest TWRP (2.6.3.1), rather than the 2.6.3.0 version that gets installed via goo manager

    Actually .. one quick question on Omni, as pulling my hair out (although I am already bald :)) ... how do you set a lock screen wallpaper in OmniROM. I can see how to set the wallpaper, but doesn't seem to be an option for setting lock screen?
     
  5. Yatezy

    Yatezy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    592
    254
    113
    It's for the OTA flashes Funky, just untick the secure box in the system update settings.
     
    davoid and funkylogik like this.

Share This Page

Loading...