• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Iphone 4 on ATT -> Android!! Which phone / service??

ballgum

Lurker
Dec 20, 2011
OK, so although I'm new to android phones, I'm not new to technology. I'm already familiar with linux/unix and use my smart phones quite a bit. So, for an upgrade I'm looking for a couple things:

1. speed increase (from iphone 4... i know this won't be hard to accomplish lol)
2. I do enjoy cutting edge OS / apps, at the same time I like reliability. Which phones and service have best reliability / least dropped calls?
3. I'm with ATT, but am debating the idea of just paying the stupid ETF and going with a different carrier. Which carriers are supporting the latest smartphones and which are the cheapest (sprint? verizon? etc)?

My ATT contract is up in june of 2012, but I won't let that stop me!! :D I will either pay full price for the phone to use with ATT, OR switch to a cheaper service and pay the ETF from ATT (ATT kind of irritates me).

Is now a good time to buy / upgrade a new smart phone or are there any upcoming phones that will be better and better in what ways?

I use my phones hard for everything from music listening to gps to games to heavy multitasking.

Bottom line the iphone just doesnt cut it and it's been awhile since I wanted to switch. I was somewhat waiting for android to mature a bit...

What are the suggestions on phones people prefer? Galaxy S2? Atrix 2? HTC?

I WILL use the cpu/memory/hd to capacity. So these things along with a decent - nice display and hardware specs (camera IQ/lighting, etc..) are more important to me than how it looks. 4G is nice also, although some friends have problems with their 4g service in my area...

thanks!!

Once ice cream is released for the gs2, how will it compare to the galaxy nexus? I think I've narrowed it down to these 2 phones....