1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Ipod or my fascinate? as music player

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by uncwhawk, Mar 13, 2011.

  1. uncwhawk

    uncwhawk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    32
    0
    15
    Ok so i use my ipod for music but why carry two things right.

    here are my question:

    1) can i get my itunes downloads on too my fascinate, if so how?

    2) i use a wired jack in my jeep to play ipod threw car speaks, is there anyway to do that with fascinate? if so how?

    3) have all i need to root but just havent done it, considering Q1 and Q2 am i better off without root or with rooted phone?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Anthony2816

    Anthony2816 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    214
    8
    36
    2) You can plug a cable into the Fascinate's headphone jack to send the audio to your car's amplifier.
     
  3. netpa

    netpa Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    1) I use DoubleTwist to get my iTunes music to my fascinate. Works like a charm.
    2) As long as you're using the audio jack for your ipod and not the proprietary apple cord, you can use the exact same thing for your fascinate.
    3) Depends on what you're using your phone for. Rooting makes it faster and in some cases better battery life but if you're happy with it now I don't really see the point in fixing what isn't broken.

    Another point you might want to consider is battery life. In general, an iPod will have tonsss better battery life, but that might just be my experience. If you use a car charger for your phone anyway then there might not be a problem but it's something to consider.
     
  4. d1c1ple

    d1c1ple Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    72
    3
    16
    was thinking same.. have 30GB ipod video; anyone have recommendations for 32GB+ MicroSD in their fascinates?
     
  5. Mr Book

    Mr Book Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    22
    1
    36
    Dunedin, FL
    As far I as know 32g is the most the fascinate can see for SD cards.
     
  6. Leonard1818

    Leonard1818 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    301
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010

    Oct 13, 2010
    301
    23
    38
    I actually tried the fascinate in my Civic USB and it didn't work. I'm gonna stick with my 16 gig nano. Plus, I paid next to nothing for my ipod (used) and I leave it in my car where it gets pretty warm. I can't/won't do that with my phone cause I need to use it and I don't want it to get too hot. If something happens to my iPod... sucks but at least it's not my phone. I was a tad disappointed that the USB didn't work right w/my civic but that's OK, i suppose.
     
  7. Speed_419

    Speed_419 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010

    Sep 19, 2010
    42
    3
    16
    I have the car cradle and it ROCKS!.. I use the 3.5mm jack that is attached to the input on my Alpine in dash CD player and get all my music that way. When I combine it with Pandora I have no need for any other source of music. Plus I get the advantages of having Navigation if I need it and constant charging! Definitely something to look into for those that haven't yet done so.
    *Note: I did update my ROM to the Froyo version in order to receive the audio out of my microUSB port, but it was a simple move and well worth the time!
     
  8. uncwhawk

    uncwhawk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    32
    0
    15
    speed with your fascinate car cradle, you say it charges in the cradle? if so are you on 2.1 or 2.2? and does it matter?
     
  9. Crucial

    Crucial Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    133
    17
    38
    Project Manager, UPS
    LI, NY
    I'm pretty sure the phone will always charge in the cradle regardless of android version. However, you need 2.2 or higher in order to get the mini-usb functionality on the cradle to work.
     
  10. Speed_419

    Speed_419 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010

    Sep 19, 2010
    42
    3
    16
    Crucial is exactly right. It will charge regardless, but in order to get the audio out of the USB instead of the 3.5 you need 2.2. I was able to flip the phone around and let is set in the car cradle backwards, but I always had to plug the 3.5 and the micro into the phone. Now that I have 2.2 on the phone, I can plug the 3.5 and the micro into the cradle itself and just slide over the plug once the phone is in the cradle. Much more handy getting in and out of the car. No more messing with plugging and unplugging the phone all the time. This definitely should have been do-able at launch and I got sick of waiting! Couldn't be happier with the Adrynalyne Superclean 2.9!!! Who needs Verizon or Samsung for support when you have those on this forum that take care of the problems for you!..
     

Share This Page

Loading...