1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Launcher Pro problems?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SirCheese, Mar 2, 2011.

  1. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010

    Jan 23, 2010
    148
    2
    36
    Hello,

    I had purchased my DX a little over a month ago, I had problems with it rebooting, I had them replace it and same issue with the new one, the last thing I had installed before this started was the free Launcher Pro and when I removed it, it doesn't reboot anymore.

    Anyone having this issue? What can I do to stop this besides NOT using it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. nycebo

    nycebo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    520
    45
    68
    New York, NY
    While I haven't had the issue, some users have reported problems with LP. I don't know if it's a conflict with another installed program or widget or what not. However, there are other noteworthy launchers out there like Go, Zeam and ADW. Give one of those a shot and see what's what.
     
  3. nj02vette

    nj02vette Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,346
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    2,346
    2,034
    313
    Male
    Marlton, NJ
    Try to disable the autorotate feature in LauncherPro.

    I've never had LP reboot once, much less the entire phone. But first thing I did was disable autorotation. Don't care for it on the home screens.

    From what I've read, seems like many issues are caused by that.
     
  4. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010

    Jan 23, 2010
    148
    2
    36
    I'll try that, I would prefer it to auto rotate but if thats how it needs to be, I like Launcher Pro so I would like to continue to use it.
     
  5. nycebo

    nycebo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    520
    45
    68
    New York, NY
    @nj02vette, that's a good point. I disabled auto-rotate immediately as well. Never took to it because it reorients a lot of my widgets.
     
  6. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,442
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    2,442
    200
    143
    Those of us that have Go Launcher just went thru some problems. The phone would lock up a lot. They recently issued an update that fixed the problem. Maybe Launcher Pro has the same or similar-type problem.
     
  7. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010

    Jan 23, 2010
    148
    2
    36
    Mine wasn't locking up, the phone was actually rebooting.
     
  8. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,442
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    2,442
    200
    143
    It did both actually.
     
  9. ylexot

    ylexot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,336
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    2,336
    405
    183
    Saint Inigoes, MD
    Rebooting (starting from the Motorola logo) or redrawing (where the launcher has to restart)?

    If it is redrawing, go into your LP preferences, go to Advanced Settings, Memory Usage Settings, Memory usage presets, and set it to "Very Low". That fixed the redraws for me.
     
  10. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010

    Jan 23, 2010
    148
    2
    36
    The phone appears to reboot, shows the droid logo and says "drooiioid". That appears to me as a full reboot.
     
  11. Sokudo Ningyou

    Sokudo Ningyou Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    220
    9
    36
    Female
    SE Wisconsin
    The only real problem LPP has given me is caused by phone reboot: it resets my launcher settings back to a particular period. So I have to make sure I've got my current settings backed up so I can restore them after I reboot. Someone's brought this up as an issue at the LP forums.
     
  12. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,968
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,968
    25,381
    3,933
    Male
    LPP is a bit outdated. I was under the impression that it was due for a major upgrade a couple of months ago. It's apparently delayed. Being outdated, it does cause me and other folks problems. I've paid for the plus version, and even though it has great widgets, I use GoLauncher and third party widgets. It's fast smooth imaginative and creative. I love the transitions. Yeah, I'm a transitions freak. :)
     
  13. ylexot

    ylexot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,336
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    2,336
    405
    183
    Saint Inigoes, MD
    I tried GoLauncher and didn't like it. I don't remember why though. It was about a month ago that I tried it.
     
  14. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010

    Jan 23, 2010
    148
    2
    36
    Well, my phone is rebooting with ADW as well....sigh...
     
  15. ylexot

    ylexot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,336
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    2,336
    405
    183
    Saint Inigoes, MD
    Well then, it's not the launcher causing it.
     
  16. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010

    Jan 23, 2010
    148
    2
    36
    well, considering it stops with the uninstall, i would say it's that, but it has too be in combination with something else, what I can't figure out. I can output the installed programs I have installed if anyone wants to take a crack at maybe figuring out why this is happening?
     
  17. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010

    Jan 23, 2010
    148
    2
    36
    AIM (1.10.4.1)
    Adobe Flash Player 10.1 (10.1.106.16)
    Angry Birds (1.5.2)
    Animated Weather (3.0.0)
    Anti Mosquito (1.2)
    App 2 SD Free (2.01)
    App Dragon (1.22)
    Aquarium Free (2.3)
    Audio Blaster (0.0.4)
    BattMonX (2.2)
    Battery Widget (1.6.7)
    Dolphin Browser HD (4.4.1)
    Earth (1.2.2)
    FxCamera (0.7.1)
    GasBuddy (1.14)
    Gun Bros (1.3.2)
    HLSW Mobile (2.5.1)
    Handcent Emoji Plugin (1.1)
    Handcent SMS (3.7.9)
    JuiceDefender (3.2.9)
    JuicePlotter (1.1.6)
    Jumpgate Free (1.05)
    Mag Flashlight (1.1.1)
    McAfee WaveSecure (4.0.0.5)
    Messenger (1.3.2)
    Messenger Voice and Video Plug-in (1.3.2)
    NFS Shift (1.0)
    Papaya Farm HD (2.01)
    Papaya Fish (2.01)
    Papaya Ranch (1.3)
    Quadrant Standard (1.1.7)
    Radar Now (2.4)
    Shazam (2.5.3-BB70302)
    Sound Grenade (1.1.0)
    Speed Test (1.7.4)
    SpeedView (2.5.2)
    Stock Quote (1.6.23)
    Tank Hero (1.2.1)
    TapOut (1.12)
    The Weather Channel (3.0.1)
    imov Messenger for Facebook (2.5)
     

Share This Page

Loading...