• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

MS SQL (Server 2008)

JoeyofBladez

Mar 20, 2013
Hi everyone,

I'm a college student new to the InfoSec community and will be participating in CCDC 2013, a competition designed to promote Information Assurance. In the competition, we have to secure and maintain a plethora of web apps and services. I've been doing a good job so far, but MS SQL on a windows server 2008 box in the qualifiers round really stumped me. Even google was giving sketchy answers, or ways to secure MySQL (the Linux SQL service not to be confused with MS SQL, the Windows version.

I was wondering if anyone here has any experience setting up MS SQL to be secure. I would probably just be setting up a simple database to protect (the main concern is that the scorebot can ping the default port MS SQL listens on, giving me points for having the service active). Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Since Microsoft SQL Server is a for-profit product sold by a notoriously for-profit company, your best bet is to start laying out the cash. Buy yourself a book oriented to taking a certification test. That's your best bet outside of getting into a MCP training program and/or purchasing a MSDN subscription.

You might want to get to know your TCP/IP ports better, and know how to set the port(s) that SQL Server operates on on your system. Another thing is to make sure that the SA user account actually has a password. (!!!) But sooner or later you're going to get to know the entire product well enough to know beforehand what settings to look at.

Reactions: JoeyofBladez
Upvote 0
make sure the sa account is either disabled or has a password ;)

Okay, I'll go a bit more in depth than just the sa....
> You're probably going to want to limit the sql permissions associated with the sql accounts... so don't have a bunch of people with 'delete' or 'execute' permissions.