1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root My hair is pulled out I am at loss for words.......

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by snowwake8, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. snowwake8

    snowwake8 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Ok. So I have a Droid X Sys v. 2.3.340 and Droid v. 2.2.1

    I had never rooted my phone but have been reading a lot about it and earlier tonight....approx 6 hours ago I started to do this....and I can't figure out what I am doing wrong! I rooted using Z4Root which worked well. No problems at all. Gained superuser, installed root only apps. Works great. My next step was to get a rom and install it.

    I downloaded Rom Manager and downloaded a ROM. I selected format/cache and backup then clicked install. All that would happen was my phone would reboot. I flashed clockworkmod and tried to reboot into recovery and all I could get was a reboot right back into the regular phone. I thought maybe it was the ROM I downloaded so I downloaded and repeated the above steps...same thing. Phone rebooted and started back up like normal. I then started reading and read about RM not working well sometimes with Droid X. So I downloaded bootstrapper. I clicked bootstrap recovery followed by reboot recovery and would get to the triangle screen. Pressing the search button opened up a menu with 4 options (reboot phone, sdcard:update.zip, format phone, format cache. After trying other things and messing around I finally decided to format phone and format cache then run the update.zip. It would not run. Now, at this point my phone had been completely formatted and still no ROM install. I finally figured out the boot process I had been in was the android reboot not clockworkmod and I had just done a phone format. I tried moving the file in my sdcard root file called update.zip and replacing it with a ROM.zip and changing the name to update.zip but that did not work. got errors. I then decided to go back into my phone and re install both bootstrapper and rom manager and try those again. Still no luck. Lastly I read about the file called recovery-from-boot.p and how that blocks cwm from loading. Using root explorer I renamed it with extension .not at the end. Still I can not get rom manager to install a ROM and can not get into clockworkmod. PLEASE HELP. I am so confused. I just want to install some roms.

    Thanks so much. Hope this makes sense.
     

    Advertisement

  2. PACAnesFan

    PACAnesFan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    201
    12
    38
    Let me take a stab at this.

    You may need to do an SBF to get your phone back up and running. It sounds like you formatted the system and have nothing to load now. There is a full 2.3.340 sbf out around the net. You will also need RSD Lite 4.9 as well. Again, search the threads for it. Or look through this thread

    http://androidforums.com/droid-x-all-things-root/226047-rooolers-guide-root-unroot-backup-rom-sbf-overclock.html


    There are links in here to get what you need. But before you do, ensure that you were on 2.3.240. If you accepted the over the air update, then you are on that system version.

    Alternatively, you may be able to do the Maderstcok.zip if you able to get into ClockworkMod recovery. If you can put the Maderstcok.zip on the root of your SD card using a computer, you may be able to get into CWM and apply the update from there.

    Anyone else want to chime in as well?
     
  3. yawdapaah

    yawdapaah Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    900
    288
    113
    EE
    NJ
  4. dmiller2007

    dmiller2007 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    1,000
    242
    143
    I don't understand why your phone would not be booting into clockworkmod from the bootstrapper. Don't bother with rom manager for the time being. Make sure you get a clean install of the bootstrapper and hit the bootstrap recovery and reboot recovery like you said. Then once in clockwork, you don't want the update.zip option for roms. It will be install zip from sd card and then select zip from sd card. Not in a folder and not renamed. But I am confused about the bootstrapper not working. That's new to me.
     
  5. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    so right now you are stock rom, but your rooted, correct?

    you need to open Droid X Bootstrap
    hit bootstrap recovery
    give superuser permission
    wait for success
    hit reboot recovery
    your volume rockers are up and down (im sure you knew that) and your camera button is the select( im sure you knew that as well)
    wait for it to boot into clockwork recovery
    wipe data/factory reset
    install zip from sdcard
    choose zip from sdcard
    *(find your rom)*
    and hit yes


    wait for phone to reboot.

    if that doesnt work
    open droid x bootstrap
    hit bootstrap recovery
    wait for success
    open Rom Manager
    Install ROM from sd card
    find your rom
    wipe data and cache, and backup restore, YOU ALWAYS WANT A SAVE POINT!
    and wait for it.

    Also its best to name your rom what it is, like apexv_1_4_1.zip or whatever the file is named when you get it, and there cannot be any spaces in it when you name it.
    when your phone boots up with your new rom, go to rom manager manage and restore roms, and rename the backup you just created to Stock!!
    let us know if that still doesnt work
     
  6. ABRMess006

    ABRMess006 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010

    Dec 30, 2010
    207
    19
    38
    Londonderry, NH
    From the sounds of it, you made a backup of an empty ROM so I would have to go with you most likely need to SBF like stated above. Make sure you backup right after rooting and before you format data/cache.
     
  7. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    no he backed up his current stock settings is all he did, he may need to sbf but waiting to hear how the steps i told him works out for him
     
  8. snowwake8

    snowwake8 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Thanks for replying guys. No I am not on a blank ROM. When I was rebooting from bootstrapper I was only able to go into the android reboot and from there I formatted/cached phone. My phone right now is like it was when I first took it out of the box with the exception that it is still rooted. I am able to get into the phone and it works completely fine. My problem is I can not get into clockworkmod to install a rom. Very confusing. I will try a couple of the options noted above and get back to you all.
     
  9. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    yes please do, i would like to know if you have gotten your issue corrected ^_^
     
  10. snowwake8

    snowwake8 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Voidedsaint: Hi and thanks for replying. I have tried both of those steps multiple times. I only am able to login to the android system recovery. I have "Verizon Tab Bootstrapper" and I open it up and then first click on bootstrap recovery and it says success you should reboot recovery. So then I click below on reboot recovery and it reboots into the android system recovery. I can not get into clockworkmod at all. Also i've tried all the possible steps within rom manager and bootstrapper together. clicking bootstrap recovery then flash clockworkmod then reboot into recovery....just loads back to the phone. tried install rom from SD card and I click backup and cache and it just reloads into the stock phone. To answer another question above yes I have stock rom and am rooted.
     
  11. snowwake8

    snowwake8 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Do I need to be holding any buttons down while I reboot? I have read some about that and have tried multiple buttons. The only time I get anything different is when I hold both volume up and down together it boots into some black screen with white writing and it says OK to plugin USB....

    And thanks Yaw I am happy to be here.
     
  12. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    what is Verizon Tab Bootstrapper???

    you need to download Droid X Bootstrapper from the market ($2)
    Droid X Recovery Bootstrap - Android app on AppBrain
    they say you can get it from his site for free, but i paid for it cause he developed it and im glad to help out
    www.koushikdutta.com/2010/08/droid-x-recovery.html
    if you didnt already download it, if you did and you still cannot install a custom rom
    open droid x bootstrapper
    tap Bootstrap Recovery
    when it says success hit ok
    close droid x bootstrap
    then open Rom Manager
    Install rom from sdcard
    find your Rom that you downloaded
    wipe data and cache
    *(Do not back up)*
    i say do not back up because we are going to see if you can actually install a rom
    and wait for the phone to boot up
     
  13. snowwake8

    snowwake8 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Ok well I bought from Koushik for $2 last night something called Verizon Tab Bootstrapper. Now I just bought on marketplace "Droid X recovery bootstrap" for another $2. Let's see if this changes anything. UI of both apps look the same.
     
  14. snowwake8

    snowwake8 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    WOOT! I had the wrong app from him. I guess I bought an app that just got me into android recovery system. I am in Clockworkmod now! Ok...let me try and do this and I will get back to you shortly.
     
  15. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
  16. snowwake8

    snowwake8 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Wow. Total noob move on my part.
     
  17. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    dont worry bud, it happens, im just glad you posted the Verizon Tab Bootstrapper thing, thats where it clicked in my head hey wtf is that, lol but glad its working out bud :)
     
  18. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    enjoy your stay in the community :)
     
  19. snowwake8

    snowwake8 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Ok well. I tried my first ROM (I had two downloaded to my SDcard) The first started installing and failed halfway through. Gummyjar is what it was. Maybe a bad ROM? So I then went to install lexlite3gingers which is not really want I want but I heard it was stable so I wanted to try it. Any ideas other than a bad ROM why gummyjar isnt working? Also what ROMS do you use?

    Thanks so much by the way I will definitely tell my friends about this community. Nothing but great things!
     
  20. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    what is lexlite3gingers???
    these roms have to be phone specific and system version specific
    Fission is a good rom
    Liberty v1.5 is good (its the same thing as gummyjar, but with more options)
    Rubix i believe is a good rom
    Darkslide is very nice
    and my favorite and the main rom i use
    Apex v1.4
    the popular ones are
    Apex
    and
    Liberty
    try those out when you get the chance ^_^
     
  21. snowwake8

    snowwake8 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    lexlite 3 is a rom. It is what I just installed. It looks sleak but basic. Not much else. I will try apex right now. Have you tried focused 1.9.7?
     
  22. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    ok i just read what lexlite was, in order to install drews rom you have to be stock, which is basically what you were, when you download roms, its best (IMO) to download them to your pc, then move them to the root of your sdcard

    you prolly downloaded a bad file of gummyjar, (it happens)
    try downloading it again.

    but just wait until you become a rom whore like me hahah
     
  23. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    i have tried them all, except lexlite because i dont feel like sbfing to stock just to try out that rom lol, now when your installing other roms, dont forget to wipe data and cache
     
  24. snowwake8

    snowwake8 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    ahhh hahaha...I think I am already turning into one. I have 4 I already want to check out!
     
  25. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    lol well keep doing it until you find the one that best suits you, see i flashed all roms, and there themes, just to see which one i would like better, well im on apex and rogue cell x
    i made rcx so of course im going to wear it, but it has alot of problems that im correcting in the new version that i will be putting out soon
     

Share This Page

Loading...