• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

N1 or Milestone on i wireless

weffy

Lurker
Jul 26, 2010
Hi all! I'm new to android and actually new to carrier contracts. Currently using a basic, old Nokia on tracfone, and I don't make a lot of calls. I've been looking to upgrade to get the following features: mobile web browsing, camera, mp3 player. I-wireless (the Iowa version) offers some pretty decent phones its seems. I'm listing their contract price.

Nexus One - 299
Milestone - 99
HTC Hero - 99
Samsung Behold II - don't know, temporarily out of stock

I like the first two the best, and think the nexus 1 is the best phone, but is it worth $200 more than the milestone? Any input appreciated.

Another factor to consider is that it appears that i-wireless allows the phone to be used as a wireless modem. Details are kind of sketchy on their website i wireless - Plans so I need to talk to a rep, but this could be a deciding factor in which phone to use. This could be a big deal for me as my current ISP, which is fixed wireless, is kind of flaky.

Any other comments about i-wireless also appreciated.

I am biased toward the Nexus One, so anything I say will have to take that into consideration.

Of that selection the Nexus is really the only one I'd consider, even for $200 more. Even though it is 6 months old it is still holding its own spec-wise with most brand new phones. The exceptions would of course be the EVO, Droid X and that iThing. With the Nexus you get Vanilla Android including FroYo 2.2 right now with updates to at least Gingerbread (3.0) in the not so distant future. The upgrades to later versions of Android on the other handsets are at the discretion of the hardware manufacturers, and they have been a little slow, according to many phone owners. You could always root and install a custom ROM, but you do that at your own risk.