• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Need voice dial alternative to Google Now

wildphins

Lurker
Mar 13, 2014
I recently got my first smartphone ever, a Motorola Droid Ultra. I realize I do not use it the way most people do (no social media), and as a IT professional I am a bit disturbed by the Google integration. It is very difficult to get any functionality out of this thing without giving your private life over to Google. Google Now is a prime example. At first, I could use my Bluetooth speaker to actually place a call. Apparently there has been an update because now when I try, it is forcing me to use Google Now, which wants to sync my contacts. I'm sorry, but that is not necessary. My old, stupid phone was perfectly capable of voice dialing without spreading my information all over. Does anyone know of an app to accomplish this? The built-in app, Motorola Touchless Control, is too integrated with Google Now. Thanks!

There are a bunch of voice dialing apps on the Play Store. I think that Dragon Mobile Assistant may be worth a try. https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.nuance.balerion

I used it a long time ago on Android 2.1.

Honestly, I have little experience with this myself. I hate speaking commands to the phone anyway, and I have no problems with Google integration myself.

If you don't want Google integration, an Android phone was a curious choice to make. Are you past the 14 day trade-in window? Maybe an iPhone with Siri would be a better choice for you?

Reactions: wildphins
Upvote 0
I somewhat agree and would add ...

I thought audio control was a stupid idea and then I got the Droid Maxx and find that I use it all the time. One person office. Sitting at my woekstation. Typing. I ask "ok droid whats up" and it reports any notifications that have come in since the last time I asked. I keep typing and simultaneously ask.