• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help New to Android - Need some S5 help here please!!

GeoRock

Lurker
Nov 22, 2015
Hi everyone,

I am new to android and the S5, but I am quite tech savy and have been doing a ton of reading before posting this question (I'm a long time blackberry user, don't hate me - I might buy the Priv so I'm on my way over :)

Long story short, I convinced my gf to break free of Apple and I bought an unlocked S5 off ebay for her. The problem is, the phone has a bunch of Chinese settings that are driving her crazy and causing problems. Chiefly, the APN settings continue to return to the chinese carrier, and I constantly have to go back in and change it to Telus, our canadian provider (I've even applied the default codes to the telus APN to no avail). Thus, the phone drops its data connection everytime it switches to the chinese APN. I have tried deleting the chinese APN settings but they immediately return to the phone. Also, I have come across other chinese items in the phone, so ideally I would prefer to just remove all of this.

The phone also shows no updates to go beyond KitKat 4.4.2.

Here is all the relevant device info:

Samsung Galaxy S5
Phone Model: SM-G900P
Country of Origin: (blank)
Product Code: Not Active
Original CSC Code: CHN
Firmwares CSC Code: TGY
Active CSC code: CHN/TGY
CSC Country: USA/CN
Mobile Operator: Telus
Bootloader version: G900PVPU1AND2
PDA version: G900PVPU1AND2
CSC Version G900PSPT1AND2
Baseband Version: G900PVPU1AND2
Root Existence: Yes
Android Version: 4.4.2
Build Date: Sat Apr 5 20:26:10 KST 2014

So, I see that we have a rooted Sprint phone, not sure how this came out of Hong Kong but whatever. What are my options here? I guess the key questions are:

Should I update to Lollipop? If so, can someone please point me to the correct firmware?