• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help new to android, not new to modding

ixcocoyxi

Lurker
Sep 18, 2014
hey all! i have recently purchased the HTC M8 a few days ago and to tell you the truth, I'm happy with the choice i made!

i was previously an iPhone user (4s) and i got bored of it. the debut of 6 made me lose interest in upgrading to that one. i have basically done everything i could possibly do to it (jailbreak) and it took so much to change so little. like having to sync every time i want to add/remove music or change the way something looks.

I've changed themes on the M8 a few times but it looks like I'm going to keep it looking stock for now. i had my 4s set up to look like an android and i didn't even know it so it was a fairly easy transition for me. I'm still learning the phone but i wouldn't mind learning about rooting and what-not. i have so many questions and I'm pretty sure they're noob questions. I'm not a stranger to forums. i know how to use the search function.

anywho, i just wanted to introduce myself as a new android member of the family!

If you mean actually brick it (i.e. completely unresponsive, need a jtag rig to have any hope of fixing it), that's very rare. Make sure any software you flash is actually intended for your phone model, and don't mess up the bootloader, and you'll be fine.

Of course you can more easily mess it up so that it won't boot (flash a new ROM without doing a reset first and there's a good chance of doing this), but that type of thing is fixable, often very easily, so doesn't really count as a brick.

There will be a sticky post in that section called "All Things Root Guide" which will collect all the information you need. My top tip is to take a full backup before modifying system software (a backup made using a custom recovery, aka a "nandroid" backup), then most things can be fixed very easily if they go wrong.

Upvote 0