1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support No Android Market preinstalled?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MrHoohah, Aug 28, 2011.

  1. MrHoohah

    MrHoohah Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Greetings!

    Just got back from a shopping trip, during which a lovely new A500 was purchased by my ladyfriend. We get home, connect it via wifi to the internet, all excited to get some apps downloaded, only to discover that the Android Market is nowhere to be found. I have searched and searched, and it seems the only reason this would be is that the tablet was sold in a region where the market is not available. Well, I can attest that that simply is not true. Our phones and friends' tablets are very capable of using the market, and we purchased it from a local Wal-Mart. I tried finding market .apk files and installing those, but they would just close upon clicking "yes" (or "no," for that matter) to the question of whether we wished to set up a Google account first. What can we do about this? The tablet isn't very much fun when you can't add anything to it! Any help at all would be greatly appreciated!
     

    Advertisement

  2. kenji57

    kenji57 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    205
    30
    43
    N/A
    As you say, a tablet with no apps isn't much fun so I can't explain why the Android Market isn't available on your lovely new A500. Try setting up a google account online if you don't already have one and then Add account in your tablet's Settings / Accounts and Sync
     
  3. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX
    That's just odd. You don't have the little white shopping bag icon in the app drawer? Like mentioned above try to create a google account online then going into your settings and accounts & sync to add the account there. To try and download the market apk market sure you have allow unknown sources checked. Under settings go to applications and check unknown sources if you haven't already done so
     
  4. MrHoohah

    MrHoohah Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks for the suggestions, fellas.

    So far, no dice. Tried syncing the account to no avail; the marketplace website still insists that there is no record of any other device accessing the market app, and thus cannot be considered under the account. Argh.
    I did indeed check the unknown sources thinger, I'm no stranger to installing .apk files. The market did actually install (three different versions so far), but shuts down immediately after asking if I want to set up an account. I uninstalled it each time this happened. Not quite sure where to go next!
     
  5. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX
    Any chance you can exchange it?

    Acer support might just tell you to try a hard reset. (Tech support across the world seem to jump to this option very quickly) but since you just got it and haven't installed anything I don't think it would hurt anything to attempt a factory reset.
     
  6. MrHoohah

    MrHoohah Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Aha, now here's something strange...

    Upon doing a factory reset, there is still no market. However, more odd things abound:
    Not a single question was asked upon startup. It just went straight to the home screen and started up the intro screensaver. No account setup procedure, nothing. I asked my lady if she was asked any questions when she first started it up out of the box, and she said no.

    What on earth is going on with this thing?!

    I wanted to avoid Acer support for as long as possible, but it looks like I might have to go there. In the meantime, thanks for the help everyone, and don't hesitate to suggest anything else!
     
  7. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX
    Yeah that's odd on the other acers i had each time I did a hard reset (not the reset button on the side) it asked all of the questions about setting everything up. And not to have it ask the first time out the box makes it seem like someone else had it and returned it after maybe screwing something up.
     
  8. wireless.bgd

    wireless.bgd Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Exactly the same problem, i am facing ?? Is there any solution ? pretty frustrating.. Please inform asap.. Thanks..
     
  9. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
  10. wireless.bgd

    wireless.bgd Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks, Market is installed. But After selecting, it is saying to add an account. After pressing yes, nothing comes up.. I tried other Market apk earlier and uninstall them. Same scenario found before too.. Should i need to do anything else? do i need to root? i am pretty new at this things. Please Help !!!!
     
  11. wireless.bgd

    wireless.bgd Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    3
    0
    5
  12. armyturtle

    armyturtle Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011

    Oct 23, 2011
    2
    0
    25
    The ****ers at Target sold us display models (I'm assuming you probably bought yours at the same retail chain store I did). When the doofus handed me the box from the display case I pointed directly at a white sticker with green trim on it that said, "Non-Retail Materials" and asked him if it was a display model. He told me that it wasn't and that sticker was a just a result from all of them being packaged together during shipment. I shrugged it off and didn't give it a closer look - I actually didn't read the, "Non-Retail Materials" words on the sticker until AFTER I realized I had no market installed. I had only noticed a huge green & white sticker covering the box when he handed it to me.

    Have you noticed that the damn "screensaver" comes on randomly (before you flashed it with new firmware)? Even when I forced the screen off by pressing the power button briefly, it still would come back on only a minute later. It was really beginning to piss me off before I realized what happened.

    I'll be going back to the store to get a new one.
    Attached are pictures of the box (w/ sticker I was talking about) and images of the display screensaver running on the device.[​IMG]

    https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-wonYRgYXFGU/Tt-6UetnJDI/AAAAAAAAVig/tOXkslinWSQ/s640/IMG_2468.JPG
     
  13. kyuubifreak

    kyuubifreak Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    39
    6
    16
    Male
    Full time student
    Deep South aka Alabama
    dang, i hope you able to trade in for another one!
     

Share This Page

Loading...