1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Not to Bash Apple But....

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Puddin422, Sep 25, 2011.

  1. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    Purchasing an iPod Touch has really proven to me how much I love Android. I absolutely cannot stand the lack of a back button, the inability to delete icons from the home screen (all you can do is move them to a different home screen), and the biggest issue:

    Once you plug it into your vehicle, the vehicle takes over all controls. Meaning, you cannot do anything with iPod to control your music. Unless you find a setting in your vehicle to allow the device to be controlled. Now why would anyone NOT want to be able to scroll through songs on the device itself???

    Yet, if I plug my phone in with a cable or stream via bluetooth, I can do BOTH. Without having to tell it to.
     

    Advertisement

  2. cds0699

    cds0699 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,545
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    1,545
    347
    163
    Shenandoah Jct WV
    What kind of vehicle do you have? Does it have a Nav system?

    I don't understand how it takes control? It just plays your playlist from song 1 to song 1000?
     
  3. Goreygirl

    Goreygirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    631
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    631
    114
    103
    Female
    Occupational Health Advisor
    Kildare, Ireland
    In some cars the in car stereo controls take over so you have to use those buttons to scroll through to the next song, album etc.
     
    cds0699 likes this.
  4. cds0699

    cds0699 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,545
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    1,545
    347
    163
    Shenandoah Jct WV
    Oh ok, that sounds kinda dumb.
     
  5. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    It is dumb. Apparently it's any Ford with SYNC, whether it has Navigation or not. So in my truck, without navigation, I will literally have to hit the Seek button through the whole playlist to find a song. In my husband's truck, I at least have the Nav screen, but it is still a total pain in the ass.
     
  6. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    That's just plain idiocy...
     
  7. Martimus

    Martimus One bite at a time...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    19,535
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    19,535
    4,045
    843
    Male
    Engineer
    'neath a cactus
    I dumped the stock radio in my Mustang and replaced it with a Clarion Nav system. Fortunately when I plug in my iPod I can either control the iPod through the Clarion system... or set the Clarion to allow the iPod to control the communication.

    As much as I like some of the new functions in Sync I've never been a big fan of Ford's choice in stereo's...
     
  8. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    My actual head unit is the only stock stereo component left. I don't want to change it. :(
     
  9. smartappers

    smartappers Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    15
    1
    16
    Yeah you get the "do not disconnect" screen. Need to use wi-fi :(
     
  10. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    I can bluetooth. I just couldn't find it in my iPod when I was trying to do it. Grr.
     
  11. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    My Chevy has a similar thing going on with my iPod, but I'm able to get away from the "do not disconnect" thing by hitting the home button 3 times rapidly. I can't change music, but I can access the rest of the device.

    Luckily enough, Chevy made a half-way decent search feature, so it's not really a problem. But occasionally I get frustrated enough to disconnect the iPod, find the song manually, then reconnect.
     
  12. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    I can still access the rest of the device. But as soon as you hit the music icon, I get a screen telling me it's connected to something. I can do anything else on the device except access the music files.


    Edit..found bluetooth setting. I guess it just doesn't show up when it's plugged into SYNC.
     
  13. aysiu

    aysiu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    966
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    966
    262
    113
    I don't really see how this is a problem with Apple. This seems like more a problem with the car stereo manufacturer. If they offered a regular audio auxiliary cord instead, then you could control the iPod Touch directly.
     
  14. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    I feel your pain OP. I use the iPhone, iPad 2, and gave away my iPod Touch. iOS is so locked down it's ridiculous.

    You only have one choice of a keyboard, you can't see what size apps are on the device, you can't even see what version of the apps are unless the app developer happens to be kind enough to display that on the app.

    There are so many crazy fundamental missing things with iOS that make Android the king of the smart device OS for power users.
     
  15. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN

    I look at it this way. I have no problem operating my ANDROID phone fully while connected to my vehicle. iPod, not so much.
     
  16. GreenBeans

    GreenBeans Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    Nov 28, 2011
    49
    2
    16
    I wish cars had a touchscreen running android built in.
     
  17. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,171
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,171
    1,185
    333
    Wish granted. :p

    dynavin
     
  18. Omar Days

    Omar Days Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,226
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    1,226
    339
    193

    Well I know what I want for xmas
     
  19. zuben el genub

    zuben el genub Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    7,413
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    7,413
    2,654
    443
    I can control my Sansa when plugged into CD/Radio by RCA type plug.
    Replaced player with one that uses USB. Player has a remote, and that remote could use a better interface. I like the remote better than trying to use the regular buttons on the in dash unit.
    BTW - went with a Sansa since it uses an SD card. I don't have to bother with any software. Just drag stuff to the card.
     
  20. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    It was painful for me to buy an apple product. Believe me. lol At least I bought it used from a friend. :)
     
  21. brianguy

    brianguy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    17
    2
    36
    Male
    Los Angeles
    dunno about yours, but my iPod Touch gen 3 does not have bluetooth. granted they are on at least gen 4 now (the one with the camera). but I still didn't hear about it having BT.

    as for me just recently got an Android... will probably stick to iPod as my primary music player and for a few games I already have, and use the phone for everything else. and I have an iPod dock for that in my car which also charges (2008 Ford.. Audiophile head unit, no Sync).
     
  22. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    Mine does. It was just hiding from me. ;) My biggest complaint now is that every time I shut my truck off, the ipod loses the sync connection. So when I get back in my truck, it takes a few minutes to reconnect. Really annoying, especially since I am in and out of my truck 5-6 times at least in a work day.
     
    brianguy likes this.
  23. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I bought a stero from crutchfield that controls my iPod touch very well. It's an Alpine IDA X300. No cd player, just iPod jack, USB jack, and standard radio. You can buy an HD radio or a Bluetooth plug in also. I really like the way it works, I can search by album, artist, song, shuffle all, or artist, list goes on. Displays all the info from the iPod on the stereo.
    Only peeve is if you don't pause the song when you turn the truck off, the iPod keeps playing. Kills the iPod battery every once in a while.
     
    brianguy likes this.
  24. brianguy

    brianguy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    17
    2
    36
    Male
    Los Angeles

    yeah I was just noticing today on their website that the newer Touch in fact <i>does</i> have BT and that sorta makes sense, since so many cars use it now. my wife's new car (Subaru) certainly does, and she relies on it heavily with her iPhone4, while her last car even with "premium" audio (Toyota) did not. nor does mine with premium but w/o Sync, both were from 2008 model year.

    I can see how that slight delay could really throw you off though... :( and it's really funny if I'm driving her car and drop her off somewhere and can hear the music go poof as Bluetooth signal suddenly fade offs, first slight static and then just nothing. LOL
     
  25. brianguy

    brianguy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    17
    2
    36
    Male
    Los Angeles

    would be nice if they fix that one. my iPod pauses every time I unplug the headphones, which is one thing I always found very nice and clearly an intended feature. the Bluetooth is really no different in that regard.
     

Share This Page

Loading...