1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root **Official GB leak 2 thread** (was Anyone get OTA 4.5.588? Possibly Gingerbread OTA?)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ECFfighter7232, Apr 12, 2011.

  1. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    yes
     

    Advertisement

  2. old.blue

    old.blue Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    132
    14
    58
    Coordinator
    Cleveburb, OH
    I have the same issue. Love to get rid of that icon.

    Things I have notice since installing GB;

    1. Battery life was terrible at first. A couple of battery pulls and it seems to be much better now.
    2. That d@mn sync icon.
    3. I use Twitter and the stock widgets for news updates. There is no count now for the total number of unread messages, and sometimes the news widget has a hard time clearing out messages that have been viewed.
    4. I used the app Status Bar Settings to control things like the ringer, GPS and such. It does not work under GB.
    Overall, I do like GB though. Seems less laggy.
     
  3. Ravenbf

    Ravenbf Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    13
    5
    16
    As for the sync icon, I have posted a couple of times (on this page even) about how to get rid of it. There is the hard way (factory reset) or the easy way (titanium pro). The sync is caused by the blur contact sync app. You can use titanium pro to freeze the app, and the icon will go away. You can force close the app through manage apps > all > contact sync and force close it, but this is only temporary and will only last between 5 and 20 minutes before it starts again. The best way to cure this is to do a factory reset. I hope this helps cuz the sync icon drove me nuts to.
     
    old.blue likes this.
  4. old.blue

    old.blue Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    132
    14
    58
    Coordinator
    Cleveburb, OH
    Only problem is I installed the GB from the original link, and (if I am reading things correctly) I can't root my phone, which would negate Titanium Pro. And I really don't want to do a factory reset and go through all the BS to set my phone back up the way it is now. I guess I'll wait and see if the one click rooters get updated.
     
  5. javamann

    javamann Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    383
    58
    83
    Male
    Retired
    USA:Poconos & Florida
    I"m a newbie and not sure why I've been redirected to a root thread because I'm not rooted. I followed directions and now have Gingerbread. Being new I'd like to know just why GB is better than Froyo. Looks different, but that can't be all of it.

    JM
     
  6. ludist210

    ludist210 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    396
    41
    43
    Male
    Grad School Student
    Birmingham, Alabama
    Hey guys.

    I'm not rooted and want to give this install a go. Will it affect future OTAs? It shouldn't...should it?
     
  7. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    Nobody knows.

    There is a strong possibility that the actual OTA may differ from this file in some way. If the actual Gingerbread OTA is in any way different from this file, future OTAs will not work.

    However, you can always use the 2.3.320 FroYo SBF file to go back to FroYo, and move forward with OTA updates from there.
     
  8. ludist210

    ludist210 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    396
    41
    43
    Male
    Grad School Student
    Birmingham, Alabama
    Cool. Where can I find that file?
     
  9. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    Go to this thread:

    http://androidforums.com/droid-x-al...ide-root-unroot-backup-rom-sbf-overclock.html

    Scroll down to "Guide to restoring your Droid X to stock VIA RSD Lite "SBF""

    Under SBF files, you want this file:
    Android 2.2.1 System Version 2.3.340 Full (VRZ_MB810_2.3.34_1FF_01)

    Link here, but I wanted to show you where to get it, since it also contains everything else you need to know when you go to use it:
    http://bit.ly/hfp9iY
     
    ludist210 likes this.
  10. ludist210

    ludist210 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    396
    41
    43
    Male
    Grad School Student
    Birmingham, Alabama
    Thanks binary visions! I'll flash the file to my phone when I get back to work. Need to go get my cable...
     
  11. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    That file is only to bring you back to stock so you can accept future OTAs. You don't need to install it until you modify your phone and want to back off the modifications and go back to stock.

    If you want to install this Gingerbread leak, go ahead and do it and just download that file and keep it stashed away. Then, if you want to accept an OTA, you can install that SBF file and accept the OTA.
     
    old.blue likes this.
  12. old.blue

    old.blue Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    132
    14
    58
    Coordinator
    Cleveburb, OH
    Great info!
     
  13. ludist210

    ludist210 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    396
    41
    43
    Male
    Grad School Student
    Birmingham, Alabama
    I put it on there with no problems. The only things I've noticed:

    1. The Weather Channel widget in Wide Mode won't load any data.

    2. Angry Birds Seasons (paid) returned an error when I first opened it. After that, no issues.
     
  14. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    Sure... What you did was just overwrite all of your system files with the exact same system files that were already there - that SBF contains the fully intact, fully stock 2.2.1 system that gets loaded on your phone at the factory. So you shouldn't really see any issues.

    The great thing about it, though, is if you go ahead and load this leaked Gingerbread version on there, or any other ROM, you can use that SBF file to put yourself back at the stock version - it will remove the custom ROM and load all the stock system files on there.
     
  15. Rick2179

    Rick2179 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    148
    21
    38
    SC
    I was wondering the same thing. Why blue? It will sometimes go white then blue. Just wondering. Anybody know why?
    Thanks
     
  16. droblyer

    droblyer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    From what I've gathered, when 3g is white you can't use market, browser, or anything requiring data transfer, but can make phone calls. Wish I knew why it goes white sometimes. I did a factory reset because of this, but still have problems. Something I did notice is when i did factory reset, 3g was white BEFORE I logged in to google. After I logged in to google it turned blue. So I reset again just to confirm this except this time I skipped the google login and just made the activation call. Sure enough 3g stayed white and of course I couldn't use market but could make calls. So I logged in and it turned blue and everything started working. Sooo my guess is when its blue, your logged in to google.
     
    Rick2179 likes this.
  17. droblyer

    droblyer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    The problem Im having is mine just randomly turns white and I can't do anything requiring 3g till I reboot. After reboot it turns blue and works for a while. Something I found today is after factory reset your battery manager is in night mode, maybe this is why its turning white. I put it in performance mode and will see what happens tomorrow.

    One more thing I noticed was I was playing around with barnacle wireless tether trying to get it to work and it made 3g go white. So I closed barnacle and tryed the browser and it redirected me to verizons sign up page for tethering. And that was the only page I could go to. Only way to get 3g blue and working again was to reboot.
     
  18. Zumi

    Zumi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    252
    24
    38
    Might have missed it in the past pages, but is there a weird graphic issue with scrolling? Where you see some 'ghosting'?
     
  19. finnaginagain

    finnaginagain Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    273
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    273
    3
    36
    Problem trying to get this to install

    Running 2.3.340
    Rooted
    used droidx bootstrap- just sits at installing update
    used droid 2 bootstrap- just sits at installing update

    I let it sit there for awhile but nothing happens so i have to do a battery pull anyhelp?

    I SBF to 2.3.340, i downloaded file from OP followed instructions, it wont budge lol
     
  20. LaZeR

    LaZeR Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    429
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    429
    66
    53
    Internet Manager - Car Dealership
    W. PA
    I think you have to use Droid 2 bootstrap & enable debugging.

    Edit: Wait, I may be wrong. I thought you were trying to install the 'rooted' 3 file GB.
     
  21. finnaginagain

    finnaginagain Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    273
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    273
    3
    36
    No just the gb file not the 3 part rooted one
     
  22. finnaginagain

    finnaginagain Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    273
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    273
    3
    36
    Just let it sit for 10 min. Nothing happens
     
  23. ECFfighter7232

    ECFfighter7232 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,493
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    1,493
    336
    163
    Maryland
    if you are trying to install the non rooted .588 gingerbread file you have to do that in stock recovery not in Clockwork recovery
     
  24. Zumi

    Zumi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    252
    24
    38
    Anyone using handcent having trouble getting the LED to blink with new texts? I've always had it work up until using GB. :\
     
  25. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010


    Its a known issue some have on gb even without the use of handcent
     

Share This Page

Loading...