• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Phone warranty lost due to "adb root" command on unrooted phone

pandaehmon

Lurker
Apr 28, 2021
Hello,
Though I am very far from being an Android expert, i still wanted to learn to create an app by myself over an year ago (on an LG Q7 phone).
All was good with the resulted app and the concepts i have learned, but somehow i managed to lose my warranty for the LG Q7 phone.

Lg are claiming that it was lost due to a "adb root" command that was executed at that time. It is true that i have used usb debugging for fast deployment and that i dont remember perfectly everything i did, however my phone surely wasn't rooted (i use banking apps daily). Isn't using this command on a phone that isn't rooted equal to nothing, like this screenshot suggests?
adb root.png

In your opinion is this an abuse from LG or it is completely my fault?
Thank you very much!

Not sure how they could tell. Lg does not have anything like Knox on Samsung. Never heard of adb water marking a phone as rooted before...... Are you sure the phone is not rooted?

I have never had a reason to root a phone in my life, ever.
And from what i've read in the last couple of days, it is impossible to root a phone just by mistake as it's not a basic 1 minute process, right? Also, never lost access to banking apps, or had to do something special to get that access back.

Down below is the screenshot of what the authorised LG Service to which the phone was sent to has given me as a reason not to fix the phone. It seems like LG has some Global Service Software that can tell if a IMEI should have it's warranty voided due to commands used on phone. So yeah, they track stuff like these also. In my case, it seems to be a false positive, if that command couldn't have affected the phone in any way and i was just a mobile newbie trying to learn to make an android app.

root proof.png

Upvote 0