1. Check out our app, Forums for Android! Download and leave feedback here!

Removing Bloatware

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Nojamforme, Dec 4, 2010.

  1. Nojamforme

    Nojamforme Member
    Thread Starter
    5

    Jul 18, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Student
    Florida
    Hey guys, I'm a bit new to this root thing, and I've been running into problems, but figuring them out with the help of these forums and the xda forums.

    I was running...the older software before 2.32.651.2, and I flashed over to this new ROM, the [ROM] NFX-Sprint.STOCK.2.32.651.2.ODEX.A2SD which had the new software(2.32.651.2) which I got from here.

    Previously, I wasn't running any ROMs, I was just rooted, and I followed these two post on the xda forums to remove the very annoying Sprint Bloatware, which drastically sped up the phone.

    How to remove Stocks, Nascar...

    APPS that are SAFE to remove

    On this new ROM, I'm pleased to be rooted and have the newest software, but I can't get the bloatware off following the above tutorials.

    With USB Debugging on, with the SD card mounted(as the tutorial says), I follow all the instructions and I get this:

    [​IMG]


    I'm not the most computer oriented person and I'm not sure what this sh-3.2# means or is, but it seems to be the source of my problem, and I appreciate any help anyone can offer to me on the subject. Thank you.
     

    Advertisement

  2. lornaevo

    lornaevo Well-Known Member
    38

    Nov 30, 2010
    155
    22
    38
    Male
    Queens, NYC
    Download root Explorer from the Market and delete them using that.
     
    Nojamforme likes this.
  3. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,317
    7,960
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Or download Titanium Backup and you can also use that to delete them and also a an app backup at the sametime
     
    Nojamforme likes this.
  4. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member
    313

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    +1 to Titanium Backup
     
    Nojamforme likes this.
  5. Nojamforme

    Nojamforme Member
    Thread Starter
    5

    Jul 18, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Student
    Florida
    Thanks a lot guys. Unfortunately TitaniumBackup didn't work.(Every time I chose an APP to uninstall and TB rebooted the phone, I got the little Android with the ! exclamation point and when I rebooted, the APP was still there)

    Fortunately that wasn't a problem. I used ASTRO to get rid of a few of them, which I've had forever and never realized it could do that, but it didn't show all the available APPs. Which is where Root Explorer came in, and it finished the rest of them off :)

    Once again thanks a ton :D
     
  6. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member
    313

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Glad you got it figured out
     
  7. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,317
    7,960
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Good to know I always thought that TB could remove anything!! ;)


     
  8. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member
    313

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Never had trouble with TB and uninstalling apps, maybe he didn't have an up to date busybox
     
  9. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,317
    7,960
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Great observation there Holmes, I did not think about that, thus the reason why you are the Guru ;)


     
  10. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member
    163

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    TB is Great....But it doesn't work well for Rooted only phones.
    even if you install busybox -

    Flash a rom with TB - and it works Flawlessly....
     
  11. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member
    313

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    He is running a rom, that's why I thought it was strange that TB didn't work as it should:thinking:
     
  12. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,317
    7,960
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    I think he meant a ROM with TB installed in the ROM, I am assuming


     
  13. tripwire's_hero

    tripwire's_hero Well-Known Member
    16

    Jan 11, 2010
    74
    3
    16
    Designer
    Los Angeles
    Where do you look? I'm not that familiar with the file structure, and I've been poking around in astro for 10 minutes and can't find the bloatware...
     
  14. MarkHirt

    MarkHirt Guest

    Astro will not show the root file system (/system/app)
     
  15. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,317
    7,960
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Check Titanium back up, or Root explorer


     
  16. tripwire's_hero

    tripwire's_hero Well-Known Member
    16

    Jan 11, 2010
    74
    3
    16
    Designer
    Los Angeles
    I'm not rooted. will those applications work on an unrooted machine? If not, is there a way to unlock the phone without installing another operating ROM on it? I'm only interested in removing the bloatware.
     
  17. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,317
    7,960
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    You will not be able to remove those apps without being rooted, and yes you can use the one click root method, keep your present Rom and make it rooted and remove simply the bloatware, and if ever you want to unroot your phone it a simple one click process


     
  18. tripwire's_hero

    tripwire's_hero Well-Known Member
    16

    Jan 11, 2010
    74
    3
    16
    Designer
    Los Angeles
    can you point me towards this? Looking at the pinned post on rooting, I see only pages of complicated looking stuff...
     
  19. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,317
    7,960
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Depends what build you are on, some One clicks don't work with the latest HTC firmware release. I was on the .5 build and used this [APP] [ROOT] 1-click root for N1 (Latest ver: 1.6.2 beta 5) - xda-developers with version 1.6.1


     
  20. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member
    163

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    What Build are you on?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...