1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Revert from DK28?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Joel Chanson, Feb 20, 2011.

  1. Joel Chanson

    Joel Chanson Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    I have FroyoDK28 on my Epic right now and I'd like to revert to some version that will allow me to get the official update from Sprint that is supposedly being pushed out tomorrow? Any way I can do that? Please and thank you.
     

    Advertisement

  2. geese_com

    geese_com Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Just sent you a PM.
     
  3. Joel Chanson

    Joel Chanson Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Ok, I tried this method [How To] Return to Stock / Fix Bricked Epic - xda-developers and now my phone is dead. The power/volume down/home combination won't work. Power on won't work. The only thing I can get to work is download mode and the methods given at that link through "ODIN" has resulted in the following:
    <ID:0/004> Added!!
    <ID:0/004> Odin v.3 engine (ID:4)..
    <ID:0/004> File analysis..
    <ID:0/004> SetupConnection..
    <ID:0/004> Initialzation..
    <ID:0/004> Get PIT for mapping..
    <ID:0/004> Firmware update start..
    <ID:0/004> param.lfs
    <ID:0/004> Sbl.bin
    <ID:0/004> boot.bin
    <ID:0/004> recovery.bin
    <ID:0/004>
    <ID:0/004> Complete(Write) operation failed.
    <OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)
     
  4. fredknex

    fredknex Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    I just odin'd my epic back to di18 stock 2.1 is earlier today.

    went fine using

    "Odin3+v1.61"

    "victory_8G_100528.pit"

    "SPH-D700-DI18-8Gb-REL.tar.md5"


    Only thing is android set up wizard didnt run for some reason, so my apps didnt download automatically from the market. Otherwise good.
     
  5. Joel Chanson

    Joel Chanson Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Could you tell me exactly what you did?
    Did you have to uncheck anything?
    Under which options did you place those files? (Pit, PDA, Phone, etc.)?
     
  6. fredknex

    fredknex Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    put the phone in download mode without plugging it in

    start odin, check PDA and select the DI18 mdf file
    select the victory pit file

    under options make sure that only "auto reboot" is checked.

    plug in the phone, should be some indication in the top left with i think a yellow box that it is connected

    and hit start.


    that did it for me, but i have heard of some people trying without the PIT file when they have failed attempts.
     
  7. C_Dub

    C_Dub Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    83
    4
    16
    Male
    Oklahoma City, OK
    You need to only have auto reboot on. Maybe that's your problem?

    And I used a different pit file.

    But yeah, the android setup wizard didn't pop up for me either.
     
  8. fredknex

    fredknex Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    11
    0
    15

    I've actually done it wrong before and checked f reset instead of auto reboot, and it always still worked. had to pull the battery to start my phone back up, though.

    maybe check the samsung drivers, too? I forget which programs need that to work and which dont.

    I wish the set up wizard worked. I tried wiping all the caches and doing resets and still no luck, but it always worked when I reloaded DK28.
     
  9. Joel Chanson

    Joel Chanson Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Just tried that and got this:

    <ID:0/004> Added!!
    <OSM> Enter CS for MD5..
    <OSM> Check MD5.. Do not unplug the cable..
    <OSM> Please wait..
    <OSM> SPH-D700-DI18-8Gb-REL.tar.md5 is valid.
    <OSM> Checking MD5 finished Sucessfully..
    <OSM> Leave CS..
    <ID:0/004> Odin v.3 engine (ID:4)..
    <ID:0/004> File analysis..
    <ID:0/004> SetupConnection..
    <ID:0/004> Initialzation..
    <ID:0/004> Get PIT for mapping..
    <ID:0/004> Firmware update start..
    <ID:0/004> param.lfs
    <ID:0/004> Sbl.bin
    <ID:0/004> boot.bin
    <ID:0/004> recovery.bin
    <ID:0/004>
    <ID:0/004> Complete(Write) operation failed.
    <OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)

    I'm gonna try it without the pit like you said...
     
  10. Joel Chanson

    Joel Chanson Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    This is what I'm getting without the pit:

    <ID:0/004> Added!!
    <OSM> Enter CS for MD5..
    <OSM> Check MD5.. Do not unplug the cable..
    <OSM> Please wait..
    <OSM> SPH-D700-DI18-8Gb-REL.tar.md5 is valid.
    <OSM> Checking MD5 finished Sucessfully..
    <OSM> Leave CS..
    <ID:0/004> Odin v.3 engine (ID:4)..
    <ID:0/004> File analysis..
    <ID:0/004> SetupConnection..
    <OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)
     
  11. fredknex

    fredknex Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    looks like it gets farther with the pit.

    I feel like I erased the md5 extension to get it to work back when i flashed DK28. my DI18 flashed with the md5 still there, but that may be worth a shot.


    edit-- I just read here

    http://androidforums.com/epic-4g-su...nrooted-need-help-going-back-di18-eclair.html

    that checking to make sure that you have the full tar file (mine is 261,441 KB). aside from that and making sure you have the samsung drivers installed im running out of ideas...good luck
     
  12. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,745
    823
    Download the files again.
     
  13. Joel Chanson

    Joel Chanson Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    After redownloading all the files multiple times and researching on the internet for over 8 hours now, trying every method I found, I really don't know what else to do. Please help?!?! My phone won't even turn on anymore... No recovery mode. No led charging indicator. The only thing I can get it to do is go into download mode. I think I may have bricked my Epic. What do I do?
     
  14. Adlebo

    Adlebo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    48
    5
    16
    when I used odin it was stuck in download mode as well. I took out the battery and put it back and I got a funny looking icon (like a computer connected to the phone) then when I tried odin again it worked. As long as you get the yellow box to show up your not bricked. Do you still see a yellow box? Try a different usb port or a different computer altogether. Good luck
     
  15. Joel Chanson

    Joel Chanson Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    THANK YOU! I've seen the term "bricked" tossed around all over the web with multiple contradictory meanings. If what you say is right, then I guess there's still hope.

    Now, that icon, if you're talking about a phone, connected to an exclamation point inside a triange, connected to a computer... I get that too.
    Whenever I do "PIT" normally and put the "SPH-D700-DI18-8Gb-REL.tar" file into "Phone" instead of "PDA", the process goes the farthest and then freezes without saying it failed. Then I turn the phone on normally and I get that image.

    When I do both "PIT" and "PDA" following the directions, however, the things I've stated in my previous posts happen. It doesn't get very far and it states some kind of failure. Then I go to turn on the phone normally and it goes to the "Samsungmobile.com" screen and freezes.

    I've only tried this on my laptop using every USB port but I can only get the yellow box to pop up in Odin through one USB port. Through all the other ports, Odin doesn't acknowledge the phone and a miniature pop-up appears on the bottom right of my screen saying "USB Device Not Recognized".

    Right now, I'm at the computer lab, so I'm about to try every method and post the results.
     
  16. fredknex

    fredknex Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    How did you get to DK28 in the first place? I'd do whatever you did then. Even if you were still on DK28, having a working phone again would be a plus.
     
  17. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,745
    823
    Do you have access to another cable?

    Try pulling the battery, booting into download mode then running it.
     
  18. Joel Chanson

    Joel Chanson Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    I used the SD Card method to get the update by downloading the update.zip file and copying to my SD card. I forget the details but basically, I did the Power/Volume/home combo which brought me to some screen where I loaded the update. I didn't use ODIN or clockwork or any of the other things I keep seeing.

    The problem is that now I can't even do that "Power/volume/home" thing. When I try that, it starts up and goes to the "Samsungmobile.com" screen and freezes.

    USB is the ONLY way I'm gonna be able to do anything.
     
  19. Joel Chanson

    Joel Chanson Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Another cable: Yeah, from some research I saw that several people got it to work simply by using a new USB cable... I ordered a new one from buy.com so it should be here by Thursday. I'll try it then but I'm kinda preferring that I wasted my money, meaning that I'll get this to work before that new cable gets here. I need my phone *tear*.

    Battery thing: Do you mean trying the process with no battery? If so, I've tried that too, in combination with different versions of Odin, in combination with having and not having the pit file, in combination with various tar files (SPH-D700-DG27-8Gb-REL.tar, SPH-D700-DI18-8Gb-REL.tar, sph-d700-dk28-8g-rel.tar.md5).

    UPDATE: I tried to install the Samsung Drivers here at my school's computer lab. They won't let me install drivers on their PCs... We do have MACs, if you know of a similar procedure for the MAC... Perhaps they have less security on them.:(
     
  20. Joel Chanson

    Joel Chanson Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    UPDATE: I went to the library and the driver install worked but it still keeps saying that the "USB Device Not Recognized". Tried unplugging and replugging, remove and reinsert the battery to try again, try without battery. No dice. I guess I'm stuck trying on the laptop until the new USB cable arrives. Maybe it will miraculously work for me like it did for other people with problems similar to mine...
     
  21. Muzzey

    Muzzey Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I had the same not recognizing problem before and as soon as I used the new cable it was all good
     
  22. Joel Chanson

    Joel Chanson Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Just to be able to say I tried it, I ran windows in safe mode and tried again. Still didn't work.
     
  23. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,745
    823
    Now that the official update is out you can use Samsung's user friendly version of Odin to Odin directly to the official version of Froyo (will wipe everything).

    Samsung

    Click Software then the one that says EB13 (assuming you are on Windows).
     
    Joel Chanson likes this.
  24. Joel Chanson

    Joel Chanson Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    THANKS!!! I'm gonna try it right now. If that doesn't work, I'll just be patient and wait for the new USB cable.

    sidenote: Did they just add that? Cuz I swear I've been on that page at LEAST 4 times today...
     
  25. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,745
    823
    Not sure when it got put up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...