1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Ring Delay Anyone Else Having This Issue?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BetterMost, Jun 5, 2010.

  1. BetterMost

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    1,066
    119
    163
    Paramedic
    Northern Illinois
    Try calling your EVO from another phone, see how many rings you hear in the ear piece before the phone starts to alert and ring. Im getting Three to FOUR rings before my phone starts ringing. :eek: Not too good.
     

    Advertisement

  2. gabbott

    gabbott Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    604
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    604
    101
    113
    Just tested from my home phone. My EVO started ringing right after I heard the second ring on my land line. Which is on par with all the other cell phones I've used.
     
  3. chcougar1

    chcougar1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    90
    1
    16
    I noticed this as I tested it today. It took 3 rings on the other phone the first time, but only 2 and then 1 the next couple of times, but yeah it took 3 rings the first time and it rang 6 or 7 times before the VM came up
     
  4. BetterMost

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    1,066
    119
    163
    Paramedic
    Northern Illinois
    Its a signal strength issue. It stopped raining long enough for me to take the phone outside with a 3 bar signal and the EVO started ringing just after the second ring. It still isn't good because I might miss some calls when im at home.
     
  5. Chief7

    Chief7 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009

    Dec 22, 2009
    135
    17
    58
    Fire Chief (retired), Consultant
    Bradenton, FL
    This was an issue on the Hero, too... you need your MSL to correct it. There was a thread on the Hero forum about the way to correct it and I would guess it would be similar. At least it is worth checking. :thinking:
     
  6. HardKore

    HardKore Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    36
    1
    16
  7. Biggest Fro

    Biggest Fro Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    182
    17
    38
  8. HardKore

    HardKore Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    36
    1
    16
    Once I have my msl how do I use it to fix the ring delay?
     
  9. Langley

    Langley Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    "Sprint phones have a default slot cycle index of 2, which means their slot comes around every 5.2 seconds or so. As a result it can be up to 5 seconds between the time the tower gets the incoming call (and the caller hears ringback sounds) and the cell phone starts to ring."
     
  10. Aridon

    Aridon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    224
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    224
    45
    43
    I use google voice so I'm used to it and so are my callers. For rings seems a little high but is you are in an are with marginal signal that could be the norm.

    Try changing the slot cycle and sere if it helps or if it impacts battery in a bad way.
     
  11. gabbott

    gabbott Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    604
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    604
    101
    113
    Ah yes, the slot cycle. You can change it so the phone checks the tower more frequently at the expense of battery life.
     
  12. BetterMost

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    1,066
    119
    163
    Paramedic
    Northern Illinois

    Is it complicated to do on the EVO?
     
  13. gabbott

    gabbott Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    604
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    604
    101
    113
    Master Subsidy Lock

    It is basically an "unlock" code to program the phone.
     
  14. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    im having this problem once in a while too. its happening way more than my old phone, which leads me to believe its not a signal strength issue. im also having the same problem in reverse. i called my girlfriends phone because she couldnt find it in the house, and i heard 4 rings in my evo before her phone even rang once.
     
  15. Headcase_Fargone

    Headcase_Fargone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    182
    7
    36
    Sorry for the thread necromancy, but this is really starting to bug me. My phone often rings only once before showing missed call. By then it's too late to answer.

    Did anyone ever find a fix for this or is it an unfixable signal strength issue?
     
  16. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    4,087
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    4,087
    2,667
    533
    Female
    AZ
    I have found that with almost every phone I have ever owned.
     
  17. njbianco

    njbianco Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    434
    8
    46
    Male
    metro detroit
    +1
     
  18. BetterMost

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    1,066
    119
    163
    Paramedic
    Northern Illinois
    Ty
    I am told the ring slot cycle can be changed if you bring the handset to Sprint service. Last time I was there I forgot to ask them.
     
    vgsantiago likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...