1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROOT] update.zip method--the stayboogy way [ROOT]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by stayboogy, Mar 7, 2013.

  1. stayboogy

    stayboogy Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    867
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012

    Jun 15, 2012
    867
    285
    113
    i developed the first and only update.zip method of rooting (many have tried to copy my work and distribute as their own)

    i did this for the zte merit / avail smartphone

    i have since been working on porting this method to other devices.

    here is the attempt for the acer iconia a200 tablet




    ACER ICONIA A200 TABLET
    click here
    STAYBOOGY'S EASY ROOT




    (not sure if this has to be done from honeycomb only, but it should work with the ics / jellybean firmwares as well. no need for the hard to find tool any longer)


    DIRECTIONS


    rename the file to update.zip (do not modify or extract in any way before using)

    put it on the root of your sdcard like so

    /sdcard/update.zip

    and boot into stock recovery and install

    your device should now be rooted without having to unlock the bootloader or anything else.





    post results.

    i personally don't have the tablet at this time, but i know the method works and i have all the info on the device's partitions and such so if this doesn't work, my honest opinion is that it's user error

    enjoy and thank me



    IF YOU REPOST, GIVE ME ALL CREDIT AND LINK TO THIS ORIGINAL POST--DO NOT POST THE FILE LINK, LINK TO THIS THREAD ONLY
     

    Advertisement

    kunna6 likes this.
  2. EEstrada

    EEstrada Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 18, 2013

    May 18, 2013
    14
    0
    15
    In trying to get to the thread where I can copy the root update zip for my zte merit. Can you help me please?
     
  3. shhhh13

    shhhh13 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014

    Nov 8, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    Sorry to say it didn't work for me.
     
  4. ARDWYNthePLAYER

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016

    Oct 22, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    How can I perform boot into stock recovery and install??can you elaborate
    :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...