1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root root your mytouch 3g!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bhov97, Aug 12, 2009.

  1. Ngo93

    Ngo93 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    586
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    I'll probably end up not rooting it. I'd get in so much trouble if I broke my phone haha. But does overclocking your phone hurt it? Like not running 528 all the time but in general.
     

    Advertisement

  2. dasudevil

    dasudevil Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009

    Sep 22, 2009
    609
    45
    88
    Forklift driver for Frito Lay
    Gilbert, Arizona

    Now that is an update i can do. :p
     
  3. Booky

    Booky Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    58
    1
    36
    I have Super D 1.10.2 but some apps and games are just don't working. I tried some moto mayhem I playd that game on 1.5 without problem also I tried SpeedX and it's not working also Raging Thunder2 and lag it was so big that I couldn't play also 3d labyrinth not working and power manager won't work.

    Other apps working just fine like Bonsai blast and all other apps. Phone running smooth and fine, rom is fast and stable. Is something wrong with apps above or with my Super D. Also I restored that apps from astro backup maybe that's problem, don't know.
     
  4. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    1,000
    158
    153
    Male
    Houston, Tejas
    You must have installed the ram hack version. Download the "no ram hack" and just flash that right over it.
     
  5. Booky

    Booky Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    58
    1
    36
    What is ram hack version?? Also you have to do Partition on SD before installing the rom? I just wipe my phone and then just installed rom.
     
  6. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    1,000
    158
    153
    Male
    Houston, Tejas
    Look here: SuperD 1.10.2 | Super D

    There are eight variations of SuperD. Download one of the No Ram Hack versions.
     
  7. Booky

    Booky Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    58
    1
    36
    What is the difference between them? Also is it save to do install over this one. Will I save all my apps and stuff?
     
  8. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    1,000
    158
    153
    Male
    Houston, Tejas
    Other than the ram hack, all the others only have cosmetic differences. White has a white notification bar, Nexus Launcher has that fugly square button to open the app drawer, etc.

    Yes, just flash over the current rom.
     
  9. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    1,000
    158
    153
    Male
    Houston, Tejas
    Other than the ram hack, all the others only have cosmetic differences. White has a white notification bar, Nexus Launcher has that fugly square button to open the app drawer, etc.

    Yes, just flash over the current rom.
     
  10. Booky

    Booky Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    58
    1
    36
    OK I will do it. Can I flash white or nexus one over this black or do I have to put black again. Also no DRC83_base this time just rom flash?

    Sorry for this questions but I still learning all this:)
     
  11. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    1,000
    158
    153
    Male
    Houston, Tejas
    Flash whichever one you want, bro. It doesn't matter which one you have currently.

    It won't be overwriting the base image, so you don't need to flash that again.

    ALWAYS do a Nandroid backup first, though.
     
    Booky likes this.
  12. Booky

    Booky Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    58
    1
    36
    I thought so but just wanna to check. Also I'm interested what is the different between hack ram version and non hack?
     
  13. jfritzs2

    jfritzs2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009

    The ram hack version takes ram that your phone would use for 3D effects mainly with video games that are 3D intensive. But it does give you 10 extra megabytes for the rest of your phone, but those games will be very laggy and staggered. So the non ram hack version just leaves it as is and you can play your games fine.
     
  14. Booky

    Booky Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    58
    1
    36
    I think that I will leave like this. I didn't find any good 3g game.

    Thx for everything you did for me:)
     
  15. ZenPit

    ZenPit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    116
    9
    36
    Dishwasher/Sushi Chef
    Houston, Texas
    Okay I recently got a MT3G (like last week recent), and I already want to Root my phone out. Thing is after trolling around a bit it just seems that a 32A is going to give me trouble, now I'm not quite sure if anything new has come up for it, but I will post my data read out from the fast boot up so that someone can help. I pretty much know what I want, that SD that JFritz seems to be all over is the ROM I would like to use. :p


    SAPPHIRE PVT 32A SHIP S-ON G
    HBOOT-1.33.0013
    CPLD-13
    RADIO-2.22.23.02
    Oct 21 2009, 22:33:27

    Could someone one let me know if that 32A is going to be more trouble than it's worth.

    EDIT: This isn't going to mess up my warranty is it...that's my main concern. I'm assuming that it won't since it is an open source phone, but it's never safe to just assume something.
     
  16. dasudevil

    dasudevil Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009

    Sep 22, 2009
    609
    45
    88
    Forklift driver for Frito Lay
    Gilbert, Arizona
    Just updated the Super D way and WOW thats easy. Almost as easy as the regular 1.5 to 1.6 update i had on my first mytouch.

    Now if only he could not have 15 options to choose from it would be much easier. :)
     
  17. jfritzs2

    jfritzs2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009

    I wish I could help more, but since you have the 1.2 Mytouch, I have no idea, but I do know that Shawn1224 knows the most about this, he's been around for a long time and recently got a 1.2 and rooted it using the unlockr tutorial, PM him and he will help you out. Good luck, oh and he is also running SuperD so that can be done, I wasn't sure. Oh and in order to change your radio, you will need to just flash those radio files just like your would a rom. So flash whatever rom the Unlockr or Shawn1224 tells you to, then go from there by flashing a new radio and then the new rom. But still that needs to be studied in more detail to be safe. Browse around XDA Developers Forum for some answers on Radio and SPL changes, it'll sound confusing but read it and benefit. Good Luck!
     
  18. jfritzs2

    jfritzs2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009

    Thats true there are a ton to choose from, but the I just can't do the Nexus Launcher update, its too laggy, its pretty sweet how it fades in and out, but its too jagged, I think he'll take that out with the next build. And so I just stick with the black ram hack, thats definitely the best looking I think, a sleek jet black setup beats out the white for sure. Anyway, happy flashing! ;)
     
  19. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    1,000
    158
    153
    Male
    Houston, Tejas
    Just thought I'd mention that I went back to CM. The latest SuperD altered the framework-res too much for MetaMorph themes to work.

    I added the Ram Hack kernel to CM, and it's every bit as fast as SuperD, possibly a little faster. I have the (Linpack) numbers to prove it. lol
     
  20. jfritzs2

    jfritzs2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009

    I bet it is just as fast, I don't think I ever did the ram hack with Cyanogen, maybe I'll give that a try one of these days. I really do feel like flashing something, just been feeling like exploring latey.
     
  21. ZenPit

    ZenPit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    116
    9
    36
    Dishwasher/Sushi Chef
    Houston, Texas
    Okay I'm having trouble setting up my goldcard..... I've tried a Sandisk 4GB (which I believe Shawn said worked for him), and I guess some sort of knock off card. I am not sure if I'm doing it wrong or what, but I am following the instructions to the "t". I get through the whole thing but when I reinsert the card into my laptop it tells me to reformat....
     
  22. Booky

    Booky Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    58
    1
    36
    Same here. Super D with black hack rom is really nice. I didn't try nexus one, but now when I see that has lag I won't:)
     
  23. dasudevil

    dasudevil Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009

    Sep 22, 2009
    609
    45
    88
    Forklift driver for Frito Lay
    Gilbert, Arizona
    I am using the nexus one rom and it fly's on my phone. I had it up against a MT3G v1.2 and it was smoking it. My friend got all pissed off. LOL

    NO lag, I did have a lot of lag when i was using another home app.

    BTW jfritz i still am having issues with the themes. I can not figure out how to get them things to load up. All i have options for are the fonts. Am i missing something?
     
  24. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    1,000
    158
    153
    Male
    Houston, Tejas
    Are you trying to flash a theme, or load a MetaMorph theme?
     
  25. dasudevil

    dasudevil Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009

    Sep 22, 2009
    609
    45
    88
    Forklift driver for Frito Lay
    Gilbert, Arizona
    I dont know actually.. Its under the SD updater Themes section. Am i doing it wrong?
     

Share This Page

Loading...