1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rooting Now or Later

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by smudgeyjoe, Jan 25, 2011.

1. smudgeyjoe

smudgeyjoe Member
    None

Jan 18, 2011
    I have the Shift and love it. One of the reasons I got it was to use it as a mobile hot spot for my iPad. I am a newbie in "rooting" and want some advice. Should I try one of those semi-permanent fixes I have read about here or wait until Unrevoked has a version out for the Shift? I currently have the Sprint Overdrive, which I can keep using, but as soon as I can, I want to buy it out and use a rooted software so I don't have to pay to use it as a hot spot. As a retired teacher on a limited income, this would be a big deal!

Advertisement

2. tarpon6

tarpon6 Newbie
    None

Jan 10, 2011
    Z4 Root is incredibly easy. There is a step by step guide over at Android Central's Shift forum. It's gone after reboot. To restart it all you need to do is hit the icon and the temporary root button..

3. kbrn

kbrn Android Enthusiast
    None

Feb 5, 2010
    Male
    Androidholic
    Central Florida
    I would recommend to wait. Z4root isn't perm and It's a pain in the butt to re-root everytime you need to reboot, also somehow I think it corrupts stuff in your phone after a while also I was reading somewhere you get slightly different battery life (worse)

4. EmoTonyB

EmoTonyB Android Enthusiast
    None

Jul 2, 2010
    Burlington City, NJ
    no. Z4 isnt permanent. but to me, 15 seconds (every time you reboot, which is probably every few days at best) isnt too long to wait to SAVE $30 A MONTH ON TETHERING. i have not noticed anything acting weird as a result of its use and i also get QUITE good battery life as documented here: http://androidforums.com/evo-shift-tips-tricks/254871-battery-life-thread.html