• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

(solved) downloading files to my tablet

Hi all -

I'm new to all things Android, so please forgive what I'm sure is a very basic question.

I've been asked to develop an app for the Android platform. I've created the app using Qt and now want to deploy it to my tablet (a Galaxy Tab A). My tablet does appear in an Explorer window. I've tried drag-and-drop of my .apk file to the tablet, but I can't find the file on my tablet. I don't think the download actually occurred.

I looked at the instructions found here: https://support.google.com/android/answer/9064445?hl=en#zippy=,windows-computer

But when I plug in my tablet, I don't get the "Charging this device via USB" notification.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong? Thanks for any help.

Hi all -

I'm new to all things Android, so please forgive what I'm sure is a very basic question.

I've been asked to develop an app for the Android platform. I've created the app using Qt and now want to deploy it to my tablet (a Galaxy Tab A). My tablet does appear in an Explorer window. I've tried drag-and-drop of my .apk file to the tablet, but I can't find the file on my tablet. I don't think the download actually occurred.

I looked at the instructions found here: https://support.google.com/android/answer/9064445?hl=en#zippy=,windows-computer

But when I plug in my tablet, I don't get the "Charging this device via USB" notification.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong? Thanks for any help.
Just slide down at the top notifcations and it should read "File transfer"? Mine just does it automatically and I can see both my tablet that connects to my windows ten.

Upvote 0
Just slide down at the top notifcations and it should read "File transfer"? Mine just does it automatically and I can see both my tablet that connects to my windows ten.