• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help some questions about nexus S

wynnsayz

Lurker
Dec 24, 2010
hi guys, i'm very new to android and there is a lot of info to be learned and I'm having a hard time so I'll ask some basic questions.

I just got a Nexus S and I'm having a few questions and concerns....

1. My battery seem to be draining VERY fast. It used 30% within 2 hours of full bar. I only charged till its max on the indicator when i first got the phone...is that why? I thought lithium battery like those in ipod and ipad are good to go once fully charged and does not need to be primed... This is my main issue because several reviews said nexus has really good battery life...

2. I'm having second thoughts about nexus S because for 199.99 it looks a lil cheap and it doesn't support HSPA+. Though i don't know how widespread the HSPA+ is already but I feel like i'm already running behind on the speed.

3. Sometimes my phone shows 3G and sometimes it shows E ( I think its for EDGE) and I was wondering how that works. is there anything i can tweak within the phone to improve my data speed?

Thanks guys! If the battery issues couldn't be solved I guess i'll return it...

Battery life should be significantly better than that. The first day I brought mine home, I used the GPS for about 1.5 hours while I drove home and fiddled with it most of the night. I didn't charge it that first night because I like to go through a full power cycle with new batteries. It lasted throughout the entire second day until late that night.

You shouldn't *have* to prime the battery, as you put it, but it certainly doesn't hurt anything. It might be worth a try, but it sounds like something else might be the cause.

Go into Settings>About Phone>Battery Use and see if there are any apps/processes using subtansial amounts of battery.