1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Someone please help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by iranian45, Jun 8, 2011.

  1. iranian45

    iranian45 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    Last night I tried to change from the stock rom (after being rooted for a while) to CM7 and I cant get my phone to get past the htc EVO 4g screen. at one point it went to the CM7 screen with the skating android guy. I tried redownloading the .zip file and reflashing to see if i had a bad img but still nothing
     

    Advertisement

  2. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,538
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,538
    1,761
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    Did you do a full wipe? Try going back into recovery and wiping everything (data, system, cache, dalvik-cache, boot, sd-ext) and then reflash the ROM.

    Make sure you have a nandroid backup from your previous setup!
     
  3. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    I would wipe again using Calkulin's Format All

    Boot to recovery
    Use Calkulin's format all zip (flash like a rom)
    Wipe data/factory reset
    Wipe cache
    Wipe Dalvik cache

    Flash rom
    Flash GApps

    Reboot
     
    iranian45 likes this.
  4. iranian45

    iranian45 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    I know this may sound dumb but is there a way to back up my TiBackup stuff so i can reload Tibackup when its done and recover everything i didnt do a nandbackup
     
  5. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    If you are talking market apps, then you can backup data in TiB but you may have to have the paid version. Once you get CM7 going then restore the data from those apps
     
  6. iranian45

    iranian45 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    alright im going to give that a shot guys if not how do i go back to the stock rom
     
  7. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    If you make a nandroid and you run into problems or you don't like CM7(I doubt it:D) then restore the nandroid
     
  8. iranian45

    iranian45 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    and what if i didnt do a nandroid :/...lets just hope this works huh. I was thinking am I having problems because I wasnt on 2.3 and am using a gingerbread rom
     
  9. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    If you follow the steps I wrote out, then you should not have any troubles:)
     
  10. iranian45

    iranian45 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    It worked I love you guys
     
    andygu3 likes this.
  11. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Glad you got it working, have fun:D
     
  12. iranian45

    iranian45 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    will do thanks again...now going to the pool and getting all my stuff back...and customizing like a madman...
     
  13. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    :D:D
     
  14. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    always make a nandroid!!!!! :p
     
  15. iranian45

    iranian45 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    learned my lesson will do...so im playing around with my phone and i keep getting force close errors when trying to run google market
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...