• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Stopping unused apps from running and killing battery

Hi,

I have a htc desire hd - I'm very new to android soplease forigve my ignorance. The battery is ok but it runs out in a day. I'm finding that even when I manage services like wifi, screen brightness, location services, bluetooth etc and swtich them off when not needed the battery runs out quickly. When I look at the battery usage the Android Os is always the thing using a signicant amount of the battery. Then when I look at what apps are running (setting>applications manage apps> running) I see there are lots of apps running that I haven't started or used in ages.

What am I supposed to do about this. I can't seem to stop them at all.

Upvote 0
The battery is ok but it runs out in a day.

Thats completely normal for smartphones. My evo barely goes half a day.

Then when I look at what apps are running (setting>applications manage apps> running) I see there are lots of apps running that I haven't started or used in ages.

Dont worry. Do a search on here for "task killers" and you will learn more. Those apps arent "running", even though they are listed under Running Apps. they are just cached, not using any battery. If you try to use a task killer to kill them, the OS will just open them back up, using more battery than if you would have left them alone.

Upvote 0
With 4.3" screen do not expect the battery to last a week mate. That is how it is with Android.

Ok, it's not the screen (and it only lasts a day - not a week!) - looking at battery usage now:

15h 15m 58secs since unplugged:

45% - android OS
20% cell standby
phone idle 14%
display 9%
android system 3%

etc

So as you can see my system is the thing that's using most of the battery.

You're not supposed to stop them because they aren't actually "running" (using CPU cycles. They are simply kept in memory in a state ready to run based on usage.