1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root think I am screwed, root went fine then POW

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Lock-N-Load, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    did root tonight and all went well.

    Last thing I did was a baseband update. but I did not clear cache/factory reset, and I had done a ROM backup earlier.

    all was fine and dandy. was using phone. testing speeds. 45 minutes no problems.

    Then I tried to go into ROM Manager and it kept closing. So, I just rebooted now is stuck on the M. I have not waited super long as normally it boots right up.

    if I hold the X at startup I get a yellow exclamation point and triangle with a droid.

    WTF happened? any help here?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    help!! I am dead in the water.. help help :(
     
  3. vincentp

    vincentp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,640
    59
    128
    Mortgage Underwriter
    Rochester, NY
    Well, if you somehow lost your custom recovery - no idea how that would happen - you'll probably have to reflash the SBF using RSD and re-root the phone. Strange though.
     
  4. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    **** now I am pissed

    I can't even boot into anything. the M just sits there and holding the X just gets me to thats screen with the "!" point...

    how do I even know if I have lost my "custom recovery"..

    do not even know what "reflash the SBF using RSD" means

    have I lost all my data? I made extra steps to Backup with ROM Manager and Titanium!

    I am at a loss for what to do.. and no phone or data
     
  5. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    I just pulled out my SD card and am now copying all the files. is there anything I can do to that direct and put it back into the phone and get it to boot?
     
  6. vincentp

    vincentp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,640
    59
    128
    Mortgage Underwriter
    Rochester, NY
    No need to panic yet.

    If you backed up when ROM manager and recovery were still working, then you have a working backup file sitting pretty on your SD Card. Chances are it's not going anywhere. You just need to re-root the phone.

    Since you can't get into recovery to flash anything, and you can't boot the phone to use ROM manager, you'll have to use the SBF method. Go Here and follow the steps for rooting from Windows. It will give you a fresh rooted phone. You can then download ROM manager again, reflash Clockwork Recovery or SP Recovery (whichever you were using before) and restore your backup from earlier.
     
    Lock-N-Load and wolftickets like this.
  7. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    I admit I am in panic mode. tried to do everything right to avoid this, not sure how it could have happened.

    do you mean this set of directions "How to Root 2.1 from Windows without losing app data"

    BTW, I was using Clockworkmod and since I cannot boot into anything with the power + X trick, I assume that means something was lost? I do see a backup directory on my SD card when I examine it outside of the phone. and yes, before I did the baseband I did the backups.
     
  8. vincentp

    vincentp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,640
    59
    128
    Mortgage Underwriter
    Rochester, NY
    Sometimes the recovery can be lost. I've had it happen a few times with older versions of Clockwork and the fix was to flash a different recovery in ROM manager, then flash back to Clockwork. Unfortunately, since you can't get into ROM manager you'll have to do this the old fashioned way.

    And yes, those instructions are the correct ones. It will basically flash your entire phone with a rooted system and SPRecovery. Since you used Clockwork Recovery to backup, however, you'll need to use it to restore. So once you get the phone back up and running using those instructions, re-download ROM manager and use it to flash the Clockwork Mod Recovery. Once that is done, boot into recovery using X+Power, and you should be in Clockwork (all green text for reference), then you can just select Nandroid and restore your backup.
     
  9. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    okay.. stand by.. doing it all now :)
     
  10. vincentp

    vincentp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,640
    59
    128
    Mortgage Underwriter
    Rochester, NY
    Make sure you follow all of those instructions precisely too. Don't want anything going wrong in this process. Don't skip the MD5 check, for instance. I know some people are tempted to do things like that and it can cause problems.
     
  11. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    step 6 is not taking

    "says no such file"
     
  12. vincentp

    vincentp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,640
    59
    128
    Mortgage Underwriter
    Rochester, NY
    If you're at the command prompt in Windows, just type the following:

    cd c:\

    Or alternatively you can type

    cd..

    A couple of times until you're at C:\. That goes back up one in the directory structure.
     
  13. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    got it.. and step 6.. I did not put step 6 file into root :( fixed that
     
  14. vincentp

    vincentp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,640
    59
    128
    Mortgage Underwriter
    Rochester, NY
    Make sure that you did these two things..

    A) You put the md5sum file in C:\Windows\System32

    B) You put the SBF file directly on your C Drive. Don't put it in any folders, just right on C.
     
  15. vincentp

    vincentp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,640
    59
    128
    Mortgage Underwriter
    Rochester, NY
    Ah you beat me to it.
     
  16. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    on step #10, does this take long as I see nothing happening
     
  17. vincentp

    vincentp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,640
    59
    128
    Mortgage Underwriter
    Rochester, NY
    I hate to do this to you at this point but I have to get to bed. It's almost 2:30 AM here. I'm hoping that from here on out you don't run into any problems, but if you do, someone may be around to help, and I'll check the thread tomorrow when I get to work.

    Good luck!

    And yes, the flash can take a little while.
     
  18. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
  19. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    okay.. I got it to start step #10

    it seemed like it took a a few trys to get it to go... but then it was quick and restarted.. but now, how do you "mount the droid" in step #12
     
  20. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    got all the way to step #19 and.... when it reboots it just hangs at the M again

    WTF :(

    right up to reboot all seemed fine, everything seemed to check out and pass and now.. it is just sitting there with the M on the screen... only way to power off is to pull the battery.

    is my phone just toasted some how... just like that??? I just dont know what to do next. what about all of the data - and backups - on my card. it seems to all be there, but.... no way to boot and get to anything UGH!

    worst case scenario seems to have happened and I have no idea why. I thought i did it all correct.

    now what? man, I am really really bummed :(
     
  21. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    You are the second person I have seen this morning say they got stock recovery back which does not make any sense. If you havent already I would suggest flashing the 2.1 stock sbf file for now.
     
  22. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    you mean

    "How to revert back to Stock 2.0, 2.0.1, or 2.1"
     
  23. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    yes
     
  24. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    trying it right now.. stand by
     
  25. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    RSD says "phone failed security verification checks HAB error 0x8D"

    and the phone says "critical error DEA1"

    ****! NOW WHAT
     

Share This Page

Loading...