1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support This looks bad - Froyo wont connect to WiFi - Ideas?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by magohn, Apr 14, 2011.

  1. magohn

    magohn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    519
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    519
    42
    68
    As I rarely use Wifi on the Intercept, I only discovered the following today. If I turn on Wifi, the device cannot connect to my home network. The Wifi attempts to connect, apparently cant, and then changes status to "disconnected".

    I looked for a remedy on the net and this appears to be a widespread Froyo problem.

    Would VM release a known broken update?

    :mad:
     

    Advertisement

  2. GTWolf

    GTWolf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    94
    20
    28
    Male
    The interwebs in FL
    I haven't experienced this issue as I'm on Wifi right now. Gonna look into this
     
  3. jons1133

    jons1133 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Calabash NC
    My VM Intercept (2.2.2) connects to Wi-Fi - at home and all hot spots I've tried.

    Your Wi-Fi issue must be with your phone or configuration.

    Ssid and password correct?

    Try another Wi-Fi hot spot - McD, Starbucks, ...
     
  4. magohn

    magohn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    519
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    519
    42
    68
    UPDATE:
    My own dumb fault. A few weeks ago I added MAC filtering to my router. I overlooked adding the phone to the "OK" list.
    All working great now.
    :)
     
  5. pff1029

    pff1029 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    19
    1
    16
    I reverted back to stock everything and lost Wi-fi in the process. It would authenticate the network and try to obtain an IP address, all while frantically updating the list of available networks at the same time, and then...nothing. It would just give up connecting to the network, protected or not. I thought the 2.2 upgrade would fix things, but it didn't. Any fixes? I'm selling this phone in two days, and I shaved a little off my asking price as long as the Wi-fi is busted. I have FIFTEEN WHOLE DOLLARS riding on this! :D
     
  6. Darkseas

    Darkseas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    212
    25
    43
    OK, I know it feels good to blame the phone, but you've just told us that losing WiFi was a result of something you did, going back to stock, so this is unlikely to be a hardware problem.

    I also understand you to say that you tried to access an open network somewhere like McDonalds or Panera as another user suggested, and you couldn't connect. By open network, I mean one that is broadcasting its SSID and requires no password or logon. If you have tried one, try a second one.

    I'm also assuming that you don't have Tasker or some battery saving program active that is turning WiFi off automatically.

    If you're sure it's the stock android that has hosed you, take the phone to a Sprint store and see if they'll help you.
     
  7. pff1029

    pff1029 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    19
    1
    16
    Well, I've come to realization that at least the Wi-fi will connect with the aid of an app like Wi-fi Fixer, but the connection drops within 20 seconds and I must reinitialize Wi-fi Fixer and cycle the Wi-fi off and on in order to connect again (only to have it drop again...and so on). However, I never had issues with connecting before. Yes, it's something I did by going back to stock 2.1, but I followed the guide to 2.1 downgrade to a T, minus the Sprint baseband changes. GUIDE - 2.1 Stable and Fast (With 2.2 Froyo Downgrade) - Virgin Mobile - Updated

    I never did anything stupid like updating with Sprint ROMs. Apparently no one else seems to have flaky Wifi after reverting to stock, though. Some people with similar issues have success after reinstalling custom kernels, ROMs, and recoveries. Perhaps the only method left is to trace the breadcrumbs I left behind and return to the original hacked condition and see where the issue sits in that state.
     
  8. Darkseas

    Darkseas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    212
    25
    43
    If nothing else works, that might be the right thing to do.

    However, I'm not convinced you have to go there yet.

    You talk about the results with WiFi fixer. I'm not entirely sure how that app works, and the developer's web site isn't entirely clear what it does, but it did help you connect. How strong is the signal (how many waves?) when you do connect? And is this for an open network, or your home network?

    And before you restore the hacked condition, I really would go to a Sprint store, without mentioning the hacking, of course.
     

Share This Page

Loading...