1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Unable to end calls

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jetsetwilly, Sep 5, 2011.

  1. jetsetwilly

    jetsetwilly Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Reading,England
    Over recent weeks a problem that was initially only happening occassionally, is happening reguarly now. When I go to end a call, I hit the end call button and it says call ended but it doesn't disconnect. I can reopen the phone app and it shows as connected to an unknown caller and I can't kill it. Eventually it will disconnect, probably because the other end has. It's particularly irritating if I make a call that goes to voicemail. If I don't want to leave a message I have to hastily turn the phone off to end the call !

    Has anyone else seen this issue on the desire HD or have any suggestions ?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    Welcome to AF, nice username ;)

    Does it say unknown caller regardless of whether or not the person you were calling/being called by is in your address book or hasn't withheld their number?
     
  3. jetsetwilly

    jetsetwilly Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Reading,England
    Thanks :)

    Yes after the initial attempt to end the call fails, bringing it back up again now shows it as unknown although it didn't when the call came in/was made.
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    Do you have anything like lookout etc installed on your phone? Might be worth doing so and letting that run, see if it picks up anything.

    Other than that, do you have any 3rd Party dialers or contact apps installed too? I'll have a look to see if I can find the thread for you, but I'm sure someone had a similar issue and it was a result of a dialer app that displayed ads during calls.
     
  5. jetsetwilly

    jetsetwilly Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Reading,England
    Thanks for the tips, I've not changed the dialler software. Skype is the only thing installed which comes close I suppose.

    I just installed and ran lookout and it picked up nothing.
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    I can't find the thread I mentioned, sorry.

    What did you install before it started happening? Anything new?
     
  7. jetsetwilly

    jetsetwilly Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Reading,England
    Nothing in particular that I recall. It might possibly coincide with the installation of the last vodafone android patch which aimed to resolve a gps problem but I'm not sure on the dates.
     
  8. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    Stumped :(

    Worst case you could try a factory reset? Are all contacts etc backed up to Google?
     

Share This Page

Loading...