1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Updating rooted 2.2 to newest OTA

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by neoshi, Apr 28, 2012.

  1. neoshi

    neoshi Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    399
    53
    53
    Hello folks,

    I rooted my Evo back in the 2.2 era using unrevoked and have stayed on 2.2 since then because of the original OTA GB issues. I think it's time I go to the latest 4.67 because my Evo started acting up lately (calendar keeps crashing amongst other things) so I'm wondering what's the best way (step by step if possible!) of going about upgrading from this 3.70.651.1 2.2 to 4.67 2.3.5 without having to lose all my apps and widget/pane layouts, as if I accepted an OTA update from Sprint way back in the day.

    Hboot is 2.10
    Radio is 2.15.00.11.19
    Should I flash to Amon RA 2.3?
    Currently still on CWM 2.6.0.1

    I should note my USB port is broken, so it's not usable at all.

    Much appreciated!
     

    Advertisement

  2. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    Updating to the latest build is as easy as flashing an updated ROM. Unfortunately you'll still have to set it back up to the way you had it. I would recommend using TB to save apps and app data, but again, you'll still have to set it up to your liking. Remember not to restore system data, it'll more than likely cause your new ROM to become buggy.

    As for the broken USB port, you can always use a card reader or dropbox to put the ROM's on your Evo.
     
    neoshi and ocnbrze like this.
  3. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    NEVER ACCEPT AN OTA WHILE YOU ARE ROOTED. do not even unroot, and accept ota and the re-root.

    while you are rooted if you accept an ota it could unroot you, put your phone in a weird state (like having s-on but still have a custom recovery), brick your phone, or maybe nothing.

    and unrooting then taking the ota is not recommended either becuase it will making re-rooting your phone much more difficult. with each new ota there is potential that the exploit used to root the phone will get closed up. also with each ota rooting will get more complicated.

    so with that said if you still have s-off then all you will have to do is flash a custom rom that has 4.67 cooked in. you can find most roms here:http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/284413-roms-kernels-download-page.html. there is a 4.67 section. just make a nandroid backup and flash any of those roms. also mikg3.11 which is in the sense 2.1+sense 3.0 section is a great rom to try as well. this rom has 4.67 cooked in but it has sense 2.1 and sense 3.0.

    for a step by step directions i would use this guide:
    http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all...ooting-dummies-guide-gingerbread-edition.html.
    just skip the rooting part and go to the after root section. it has great info like how to flash roms. also i would suggest that you switch to amon ra 2.3 (if you do not have it already). the guide has directions on how to switch to amon ra2.3 as well.
     
    neoshi and frenchy714 like this.
  4. neoshi

    neoshi Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    399
    53
    53
    Aww boo so I do have just tibu everything back in the end. Alright, well I better get going on that then. Thanks!
     
    frenchy714, Rxpert83 and ocnbrze like this.
  5. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    no worries just make sure to do a titanium backup to backup your apps data and your apps. also to make a nandroid backup before flashing your rom. nandroid backups are your friend. just in case if something goes wrong, you have a backup to fall back on.

    if you have any more questions please feel free ask and let us know how everything went and what rom you are on.
     
    neoshi and frenchy714 like this.
  6. neoshi

    neoshi Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    399
    53
    53
    Yep, already have a nandroid and ran tibu. Time to put on amon ra and make another nandroid. Thanks again!
     
    frenchy714 and ocnbrze like this.
  7. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    Keep us posted!
     
  8. neoshi

    neoshi Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    399
    53
    53
    Ah great now my Google Play won't launch and my tibu is acting as a free version! What the craaaappp
     
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    you need to first download the free version and then also the Titanium Backup PRO Key ★ root

    what happens when you try and open google play? what rom are you on? try and wipe dalvik cache and cache. usually most issues will be solved by wiping them.
     
    frenchy714 likes this.
  10. neoshi

    neoshi Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    399
    53
    53
    i've been on tibu paid version for a while now. it just can't check license if Play isn't working. Play refuses to launch, giving me one of those error in launching application messages. it's stock ROM just rooted. ill wipe dalvik and cache again but my phone LOVES to boot loop after i do that.
     
  11. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ok to make sure that you are in an actual bootloop, lets explain what goes on when you boot your phone. there are two main things that happen on the screen as the phone boots up. first up is the splashscreen. on stock this is the typical htc white screen. next up is the bootanimation. and again on stock this is sprint's animation. now to be in an actual bootloop it will have to go through both splash screen and bootanimation. as these screens appear, the phone will check if it has to build dalvik cache and cache.

    if you were to wipe dalvik cache and cache then the phone will have to build it up before it can fully boot. this can take some time and it will usually only loop the bootanimation. if it loops both the splashscreen and bootanimation, then something is wrong.

    however, when wiping dalvik cache and cache it usually will take care of most smaller issues. it does take more time to boot up as the caches are being built.
     
  12. neoshi

    neoshi Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    399
    53
    53
    looks like CWM 2.6.0.1 was a problem... switched to Amon RA 2.3 and the wipes no longer create loops. previously it did go through both the boot and splash continuously. i had to restore a nandroid to get back running.

    unfortunately, error while launching application error still occurs.
     
  13. neoshi

    neoshi Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    399
    53
    53
    i should mention that i also have framework and gapps FCs all the time.
     
  14. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Well CMW clearly wasnt wiping properly.

    If I were you the first thing I would do is wipe everything except for the sd card (including sd-ext and sd-android.secure), flash superwipe, and then reflash your ROM so you know that the problem wasnt caused by CWM.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...