1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

usage warning from metro

Discussion in 'Metro PCS' started by meatfix, Feb 3, 2013.

  1. meatfix

    meatfix Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    received this text last night (while tethered using pda-net level 2 encryption)
    my plan is $55 unlimited.

    "your data use this month places you in the top 5 percent of users. use wi-fi to help avoid reduced speeds."

    who said t-mobile?
     

    Advertisement

  2. bwg2469

    bwg2469 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012

    Mar 20, 2012
    99
    9
    26
    Creeper
    Los Angeles
    What is top 5%? 15gb+ ?
     
  3. twogbsd

    twogbsd Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    2,014
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012

    I would imagine like, 30GB is top 5%....
     
  4. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #78
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    1,629
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,629
    1,155
    393
    NYC
    From discussions in the MetroPCS forum, it seems that 60GB is the high end for the "unlimited" plan. The vast majority of users will never come close to using that much data, it's only going to happen if you do a ton of streaming and/or use the phone as your main internet connection which really isn't its intended purpose.
    Metro is not alone in doing this, all the carriers have similar practices in place.
     
  5. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Average for customers is from .90GB-1.4GB
    I use about 20GB though
     
  6. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    33,684
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    33,684
    34,038
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    I moved this to the Metro PCS forum as it is more of a carrier related discussion. Also, lets attack the issue, not each other.

    Thanks.:)
     
    twogbsd and BRAINZ2013 like this.
  7. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,420
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,420
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    That isn't true cause if you was using to much data from tethering you would be dropped from metro . The reason u have slower speads is workers fixing on the network due to the merger of tmobile and metro . If you don't believe the work check it out . Voicemail,updateing and even customer service .
     
  8. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Merger has nothing to do with anything metro is doing. They announced a merger but that merger hasnt been approved yet so the merger has not started yet and will not start until late April.
     
    Sepero likes this.
  9. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    They dont drop people for tethering they just throttle you
     
    Sepero likes this.
  10. n4zty

    n4zty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,302
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    4,302
    1,700
    313
    Male
    once throttles switch to 3g.... today i speed test my 3g and i was at 700 kbps which is still pretty good for surfing the web.
     
  11. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
  12. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    33,684
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    33,684
    34,038
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    OK, enough already. The OP purchased an unlimited plan. There is a part of the TOS that deals with throttling bandwidth as some point. Let's keep the discussion on that topic.

    Thanks.
     
    cubone and Gman9831 like this.
  13. Joshb101

    Joshb101 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012

    Aug 29, 2012
    157
    27
    43
    Male
    California
    I'd just like to know how much meat was using before receiving this message and see where the general line is drawn or if its because he was tethering.
     
  14. 05TRAILBLAZER

    05TRAILBLAZER Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    94
    3
    16
    ft worth, tx
    yea its aroound 60+ Gb when the starts throttling u. what applications do you use?? check your data usage on settings. it;ll tell you what he is using. i use about 50+GB just on yutube vids
     
  15. pcgamer

    pcgamer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    613
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    613
    45
    68
    Male
    School full-time (high school)
    Dallas, TX
    Regular 3g speeds can get there, but throttled 4g leaves you way lower than that
     
  16. h4x0rj3ff

    h4x0rj3ff Chemist
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,565
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    2,565
    874
    323
    Male
    Prototype Precision Machinist
    Tri-Cities, Michigan
    Wow my 4g speeds are only like 1mb maybe 1.2...I would hate to see my speeds if the were tethered! No 3g here ether :(
     
  17. Ubercharrge

    Ubercharrge Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    542
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    542
    105
    113
    my 3g is rocking right now :p
    keep on getting constant 2 mb on 3G, even faster than my 4g. xD
     
  18. bittersweet60

    bittersweet60 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Recently, I received a different type of warning text message from MetroPCS...a warning about offnet violations. I went to an area store & was informed that when Metro cell owners are out of their home service area, which is the state where phone was purchased, for greater than 3 months; immediate cancellation of service may occur. Thus, Metro is not for the consumer who may be away from their home state for longer than 3 months. This policy applies to texting & data services as well.

    Now, when shopping for cell phone service, I will never assume free long distance is equivalent to free roaming capabilities, which Metro terms TravelTalk. I signed with Metro due to their affordable rates, without inquiring specifically about their out-of-state 'Roaming' policy. This has been an unpleasant lesson for a newbie cell phone user, but I did learn from it. As the old cliche says, 'If it sounds too good to be true, then it probably is'. Conclusion: MetroPCS is not a true nationwide cell phone carrier.

    http://cellphones.about.com/od/roamingpoliciesbycarrier/qt/metropcsroaming.htm
     
  19. THE W

    THE W Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,092
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,092
    242
    163
    Detroit
    ...netflix?
     
  20. Joshuah22a

    Joshuah22a Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #296
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    593
    61
    78
    Male
    I never got warned but i also never really pass 25gb.. but im below 15gb on average..ive been hitting high 25s this month cause of mlb.tv streaming
     
  21. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    On tmobile unlimited you get throttled after 9765GB according to what shows up on some peoples data usage monitor in their tmobile account settings.
     
  22. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Found a screenshot [​IMG]<-- Tmobile Unlimited Plan
     
    Sepero likes this.
  23. h4x0rj3ff

    h4x0rj3ff Chemist
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,565
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    2,565
    874
    323
    Male
    Prototype Precision Machinist
    Tri-Cities, Michigan
    do all of us with "unlimited" data have something like this?

    Edit: o i see t-mobile lol sorry :(
     
  24. THE W

    THE W Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,092
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,092
    242
    163
    Detroit
    1TB of 4G data per month,

    yeah i think i'd be okay with that.
     
  25. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Isnt that 10TB?
     

Share This Page

Loading...