1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General USB Tethering discussion (updated)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dropnbassonu, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. dropnbassonu

    dropnbassonu Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    75
    16
    18
    I was just playing around with my new Bionic and it wouldn't let me wireless tether b/c I didn't pay for the service. Well, I plugged my phone up to my computer and checked the box for USB Tethering, and let's just say WOW! First, I didn't think it would work for some reason. Maybe my mindset has always been "tethering" wasn't legal unless you paid for it. I then disconnected from my wifi at home and ran a speedtest.net scan and brought back this:

    Speedtest.net using USB Tether.JPG
     

    Advertisement

  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,475
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Verizon may contact you about the tethering, or the data may just show up on your bill.
     
  3. dropnbassonu

    dropnbassonu Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    75
    16
    18
    Yeah, I was thinking that, but I didn't get any type of warning saying "you might be charged for using this".....strange.....I'll be curious to see if anybody else is able to get it to work like me, without it flashing up any warnings.
     
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,475
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    I'm hoping you'll report back about that.. interesting that it did it for you in the first place. It would seem insidious of Verizon if this turned out to be a way of upping user's data plans: let tethering hook up and then start charging for it.
     
  5. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,752
    823
    When the Charge came out they offered free tethering for a bit (likely in hopes that people would buy the tethering plan). I would imagine that it's similar here.
     
  6. skwalk47

    skwalk47 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Uhh I would like to try this but I cant even figure out how to do anything but mass storage mode with my mac... Help!
     
  7. rexboe

    rexboe Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    53
    7
    16
    I just tried mine and it is working too. I couldn't get the wireless to work it wants me to sign up for a plan. Don't know if this is mistake on Verizon part or why it is working.
     
  8. skwalk47

    skwalk47 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    The hotspot you definitely have to pay for. The free trial of that ended a few months ago.
     
    alostpacket and Frisco like this.
  9. tehsusenoh

    tehsusenoh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    929
    385
    133
    Student
    127.0.0.1
    This is great for me. Hopefully it works just as well over Bluetooth. I don't like lots of wires when I'm on a car trip.
     
  10. ChiefIlliniwek5

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    99
    14
    18
    When the OG Droid was given USB tethering capabilities, I tried it out and it worked the first time even though I didn't buy a tethering package. But when I tried it another day, it gave me the message that I had to pay for the tethering data package and wouldn't let me browse. So for those of you who have tried this, try turning it off, then turn it on a try it again and let us know if it still works. Or wait a day or two and try it again and see if it still works. If so, this is awesome.
     
    DanDroide likes this.
  11. feivel

    feivel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    I tried it today and found it to be buggy this time. Not sure why. But... EasyTether is down to 4.99 again on Amazon Appstore! Bought and it works great!

    I'd still love a good working WiFi tether, but at least for now I can read my Gmail and post here while traveling.
     
  12. aaronmach1

    aaronmach1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    394
    12
    48
    michigan, usa
    FREE!! im using it right now works great and fast!
     
  13. ryanbroham

    ryanbroham Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    44
    0
    15
    Ugh, I can't seem to get speeds like everyone else is reporting. I purchased easytether and got a connection, but a ridiculously slow one (less than 1mbps with 4g though the speedtest app shows over 6mbps). I tried the stock USB tethering method and couldn't even establish a connection. Am I being an idiot and doing something wrong? Any advice?
     
  14. dockmaster

    dockmaster Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    225
    62
    53
    Male
    Coast Guard (ret)
    Pensacola, FL
    1. So, if i use the boinic as a wireless hotspot and my daughter connects her ipod touch (via wireless) to it, it will cost me money, even though I have unlimited (grandfathered)?
    2. Can I connect my laptop to the bionic as a wireless hotspot for free?

    They advertise that it can connect up to 5 devices...did they forget to mention it may cost money?

    Thanks
    BillD
     
  15. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    879
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    879
    69
    98

    1. you may be billed for using the hotspot feature, not the data.

    2. yes you can use your bionic as a hotspot but for free i do not believe so.

    3. they do advertise it can connect 5 devices but no i dont believe they mention that it costs money.
     
  16. dockmaster

    dockmaster Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    225
    62
    53
    Male
    Coast Guard (ret)
    Pensacola, FL
    Please hold for a Verizon Wireless sales representative to assist you with your order. Thank you for your patience. You are now chatting with 'Ashlee M.'
    Ashlee M.: Hello. Thank you for visiting our chat service. May I help you with your order today?
    You: does it cost money to use this device as a hot spot?
    You: the bionic
    Ashlee M.: That's a great question.
    You: and the answer is?
    Ashlee M.: Yes, to use the Bionic as a hotspot, you would need to select the data package that has the hotspot feature inclouded.
    You: I have the unlimited data plan
    Ashlee M.: We offer 3 data packages with the Hotspot feature. They are 4Gb, 7GB, and 12Gb.
    You: so i would have to give up my unlimited data plan?
    Ashlee M.: Are you an existing customer with the unlimited data package?
    You: yes
    Ashlee M.: Which phone do you currently have with that data package?
    You: the HTC Droid Eris
    Ashlee M.: Great, you would be able to keep your current data package when you upgrade to the Bionic.
    Ashlee M.: To add the hotspot, you would need to call Customer Service at 1-800-922-0204.
    You: I know i can keep my current pkg, but I have to pay to use it as a hot spot if I purchase the bionic? thats horrible
    You: sprint is free.......
    You: also why doesnt your website mentione the extra cost anywhere?
    Ashlee M.: I'm sorry that you feel that way.
    Ashlee M.: Is there anything else I may help you with?
    You: no, have a nice day ashlee... thanks for your help!
     
  17. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    879
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    879
    69
    98
    yup.. however where theres a will theres a way. OH and just like the good old apple saying ''theres an app for that!'' im pretty sure there is somewhere.
     
  18. aaronmach1

    aaronmach1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    394
    12
    48
    michigan, usa
    how will they know if I tether to my computer with the usb port?
     
  19. jimdibb

    jimdibb Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    54
    2
    46
    Why do you need tethering to do that? Just use the phone in the first place.:D
     
  20. rossman26

    rossman26 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    51
    14
    18
    Professional Student
    Pennsyltucky
    I have the grandfathered unlimited data plan and when I bought my phone I had them add the $30 unlimited tethering data plan. It was $20 for 2GB or $30 for unlimited. Since I'm ditching the 3G service on my iPad now the cost was a push.

    If you decide to add the tethering data plan you WILL NOT lose your unlimited data plan for the phone.

    Or you could continue to work around Verizon though I find that distasteful and you then run the risk of Verizon discovering you are tethering and then forcibly converting your unlimited plan to a tiered plan. Not worth the risk in my opinion.
     
  21. kento812

    kento812 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    6
    0
    25
    I used pdanet and it worked fine. Just like it did on my og droid.
     
  22. marine one

    marine one Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #145
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009

    Dec 22, 2009
    233
    61
    83
    Male
    +1 :d
     
  23. Darkhawk_76

    Darkhawk_76 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    31
    1
    16
    Auditor
    Southern Illinois
    Pdanet here as well ftw!
     
  24. may2700

    may2700 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    easy tether works fine for me and its only $4.99 in amazon store right now, what a bargin!
    !
     
  25. aaronmach1

    aaronmach1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    394
    12
    48
    michigan, usa
    why do u guys use pda net and easy tether apps?????? all i had to do was plug phone in to computer and click tether. i was instantly connected.
     
    William T Riker likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...